It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:13 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Spy Hunter's Transitions
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 9:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:35 pm
Posts: 615
Spy Hunter has two modes, car and boat. When you transition between the two, the screen scrolls horizontally. (It scrolls vertically the rest of the time.) On a real NES, the background turns blue and does not flicker, but on emulators it fills with "0" tiles as the screen shifts. Also there is no flickering orange on the real NES. Try it with the game genie's infinite lives code (always take the left forks) and see what I mean. [/img]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 9:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 11:18 am
Posts: 69
Which emulators display this glitch? Does swapping the mirroring type have any effect (it's a CNROM title, so this should be hard wired).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 10:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:59 pm
Posts: 1389
I'm not seeing any of the "0" tiles you speak of. Your ROM is set to horizontal mirroring, right?

_________________
Quietust, QMT Productions
P.S. If you don't get this note, let me know and I'll write you another.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:35 pm
Posts: 615
[quote]I'm not seeing any of the "0" tiles you speak of. Your ROM is set to horizontal mirroring, right?[/quote]

It is now and the zeros went away. In FCE Ultra it looks exactly like it should. The mirroring change fixed it. I thought about the mirroring but didn't change it because I figured that if the mirroring was wrong the whole game would look F*cked up right from the start. Sorry bout this. GoodNES might live up to its name if it checked and fixed bad iNES headers. This is not the first time I have had to fix the header.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 8:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19091
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Great Hierophant wrote:
I figured that if the mirroring was wrong the whole game would look F*cked up right from the start.

This is true of some scrolling engines (e.g. Challenger, SMB1, and Contra) that place their update seam halfway through the hidden screen, but others seem to keep screen updates in the "overscan", that area that is hidden by the corners of the TV.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 11:18 am
Posts: 69
Does anyone have a list of other ROMs whose mirroring bits in GoodNES are incorrect? I'm planning on doing a database-based mapper detector in my emulator, and I don't want to run into these issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 1:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:17 pm
Posts: 355
The ones I've found and put in my emulator:

case CRC32_DRAGON_BALL_SHEN_LONG_NO_NAZO_J: /* should be vertical mirroring */
case CRC32_LINUS_MUSIC_DEMO_PD: /* typo in NES^Z */
case CRC32_MACH_RIDER_JU: /* should be vertical mirroring */
case CRC32_PIPE_DREAM_U: /* should be mapper 3: CNROM */
case CRC32_STAR_GATE_J: /* should be mapper 0: NROM */
case CRC32_SUPER_CARS_U: /* should be vertical mirroring */
case CRC32_TOTAL_RECALL_U: /* should be vertical mirroring */

And, M.U.L.E. (U) contains 'GitM...' in its header, maybe other GoodNES roms do too. Same thing goes for Mega Man (U), Jackal (U), Rush'n Attack (U), Startropics (U), Karate Champ (U), etc. that contain 'Diskdude' in the header. So I've done a header check for those, instead of a crc32 check. Many other roms contain garbage in the header, but usually it's outside the data that's used.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:48 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
NEStoy rulez! :D
There's another nice tool called "TNINES". It's old, but nice.
Ya, there's a couple of guys complaining about Megaman1 not running/loading on emulators, hehehehe :P

_________________
Zepper
RockNES developer


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group