FDS BIOS

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
17daysolderthannes
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 3:57 pm

FDS BIOS

Post by 17daysolderthannes » Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:31 pm

sorry, I searched both the internet and this forum and I can't find it, could someone link me to the FDS BIOS so I can play famicom disk system games, please :) . Thank you.

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11466
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: FDS BIOS

Post by tokumaru » Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:59 pm

17daysolderthannes wrote:I searched both the internet and this forum and I can't find it
Haha, you say "searched the internet" like if you could search the whole internet in about 5 minutes! And you also say "and this forum" , as if it wasn't part of the internet...!
could someone link me to the FDS BIOS so I can play famicom disk system games, please :) . Thank you.
I think it would be illegal to post something like that here. Maybe you should try google again, with the proper search string this time.

NotTheCommonDose
Posts: 523
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: lolz!
Contact:

Post by NotTheCommonDose » Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:27 pm

How do I use a .rom?

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11466
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:12 pm

I think some emulators just expect the FDS BIOS to be placed in the same directory as the emulator, with a specific filename. Others will allow you to select the location of the FDS BIOS somewhere in their configuration menus. Just read the documentation of the emulator you're using, they probably say something about the FDS.

NotTheCommonDose
Posts: 523
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: lolz!
Contact:

Post by NotTheCommonDose » Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:17 pm

I thought you did that with disksys.rom?

17daysolderthannes
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 3:57 pm

Re: FDS BIOS

Post by 17daysolderthannes » Sun Feb 03, 2008 7:33 pm

tokumaru wrote:
17daysolderthannes wrote:I searched both the internet and this forum and I can't find it
Haha, you say "searched the internet" like if you could search the whole internet in about 5 minutes! And you also say "and this forum" , as if it wasn't part of the internet...!
could someone link me to the FDS BIOS so I can play famicom disk system games, please :) . Thank you.
I think it would be illegal to post something like that here. Maybe you should try google again, with the proper search string this time.
actually I said "searched the internet" as to say "I used a general search engine (google)" and then "searched this forum" meaning I used the search feature of this forum specifically. Anyway, I know HOW to get this to work, I just need to know where the FDS BIOS file is to actually do it.

atari2600a
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:25 pm
Location: Earth, Milkyway Galaxy, The Universe, M-Theory
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:58 pm

Google doesn't spider the internet in it's entirety, I'm sure.

It might help to know what emulator you're using...

Code: Select all

          *=$0000
loop      JMP loop
          .eof

17daysolderthannes
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 3:57 pm

Post by 17daysolderthannes » Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:13 pm

atari2600a wrote:Google doesn't spider the internet in it's entirety, I'm sure.

It might help to know what emulator you're using...
RockNES or Nestopia for Mac OS X (I prefer Nestopia)

Why should that matter though, isn't it a general file?

Yes, I know Google doesn't spider the entire internet (though I believe its pretty close), if someone says they searched their house for something, I doubt they literally mean they covered every square inch of every cabinet, box, etc.

I figured that if anyone would know where to get it, it would be the people at nesdev, since, after all, that's some vital stuff for an emulator programmer.

tepples
Posts: 21754
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Post by tepples » Mon Feb 04, 2008 5:08 am

17daysolderthannes wrote:RockNES or Nestopia for Mac OS X (I prefer Nestopia)

Why should that matter though, isn't it a general file?
Different emulators expect different names for a file.
I figured that if anyone would know where to get it, it would be the people at nesdev, since, after all, that's some vital stuff for an emulator programmer.
You can get it by buying the FDS RAM cart, soldering together a dumper, and dumping it. Or you can get it by buying a Famicom and FDS, soldering together an fdsloader cable, and using fdsloader to send a dumping program to the FDS. As far as I can tell, these are the only ways to get a copy of the FDS BIOS that are consistent with countries' statutory exceptions to Nintendo's exclusive right to reproduce or distribute copies of the FDS BIOS.

I wonder if it can be extracted from Famicom Mini carts or the Japanese version of Animal Crossing for GameCube...

LocalH
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:30 pm

Post by LocalH » Mon Feb 04, 2008 5:19 am

If you want to go the illegal route, it's not at all hard to find, I found it in like two seconds on Google. I will not tell you the search term I used because that could be construed as incitement to infringe copyright, and we all know how anal N is about copyright (so much so that they even lie about the legality of emulators because they don't even want to acknowledge the homebrew scene at all).

17daysolderthannes
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 3:57 pm

Post by 17daysolderthannes » Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:43 pm

I don't see how it should be illegal on the account that people make repros of games that weren't released in the US and never seem to face legal trouble. I just wanted to play Otocky which has no US NTSC release and since its on the FDS I need the bios to play it.

LocalH
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:30 pm

Post by LocalH » Mon Feb 04, 2008 11:18 pm

Just because someone doesn't get sued doesn't mean it's not illegal. Yes, repros are illegal without consent of the copyright holder.

17daysolderthannes
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 3:57 pm

Post by 17daysolderthannes » Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:09 pm

LocalH wrote:Just because someone doesn't get sued doesn't mean it's not illegal. Yes, repros are illegal without consent of the copyright holder.
well then every repro out there is illegal, because none of them have the consent of the copyright holder.

Anyway, back on topic, just for fun I decided to do the long and arduous task of dumping the BIOS from my own FDS and have put it in the folder for Nestopia. Now, it boots and gives me the screen, but it says "please set disk card" when I tried to load the rom. Is there a button or something I need to push for it to start "reading" the game?

Post Reply