It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:36 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:55 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Linköping, Sweden
blargg wrote:
I just tested and 9C and 9E are screwey. I need to take them off the test. Depending on X and Y they sometimes write to $700, among other things. Maybe someone else can figure them out properly.


Stumbled upon this thread after noticing that those fail in my emu ("9C SYA abs,X", "9E SXA abs,Y").

My guess is that the "AND addr_high + 1" behavior comes from always calculating addr_high + 1, regardless of whether its needed to correct the address. In that case, maybe the screwy behavior occurs when the value is actually used, i.e. when "addr + x" or "addr + y" crosses into a new page.

Maybe it affects AXA and TAS in addition to SYA and SXA in that case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New CPU test ROM
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 5:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:55 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Implementing it like that does make the tests pass. :)

If we cross over into a new page, then the calculated addr_high + 1 gets used, but for these opcodes addr_high + 1 is corrupted (prolly due to the result being put on the same bus as x/y), and the target address for e.g. SYA becomes ((y & (addr_high + 1)) << 8) | addr_low instead of the normal ((addr_high + 1) << 8) | addr_low. If we don't wrap to a new page, then the corrupted value doesn't get used for the address, so nothing special happens.

I'm guessing it works like that for all the instructions where the value is influenced by addr_high + 1, but confirmation would be nice.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New CPU test ROM
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 7:21 am
Posts: 29
blargg wrote:
I've been working on a new test framework that can run multiple groups of tests and give better feedback. As a first use of it, here's a set of CPU tests that do most instructions, testing several edge cases. If it fails, it prints the opcode and instruction name. It only tests official instructions right now.

blargg_nes_cpu_test5.zip

These tests work like zexall, trying each instruction with all interesting combinations of inputs and checksumming the registers afterwards. After all the different combinations have been fed to a particular instruction, the checksum is compared with the correct one to determine pass/fail.

EDIT: Replaced with version that doesn't stop on failure, so you get a list of all the instructions that failed.


The link is down. Could you reupload it, please?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New CPU test ROM
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:52 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3155
Location: Brazil
Version 6. 8-)


Attachments:
cpu_timing_test6.zip [10.38 KiB]
Downloaded 97 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New CPU test ROM
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 7:21 am
Posts: 29
Zepper wrote:
Version 6. 8-)


Thank you, man.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group