It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:24 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 722 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 49  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
New version added.

Changelog:
0.13:
Correct a little bug and now all cpu_interrupts_v2 test roms passed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3969
You should also fix the controller input problem. The problem with joystick input not working correctly that I mentioned earlier has nothing to with mappers.

This is the joystick code I'm using, it's a bit non-standard.

Right now, it seems that buttons and keypresses are shifted one bit over.
My guess is that it's shifting the register during the read in the strobe routine when it shouldn't.

JOY1 = $4016

Code:
ReadJoypad1:
   lda joy1
   sta joy1last
   
   jsr Strobe
   jsr ReadJOY1_8
   sta joy1
ReadJoy1Again:   
   jsr Strobe
   jsr ReadJOY1_8
   cmp joy1
   sta joy1
   bne ReadJoy1Again
   
   eor joy1last
   and joy1
   sta joy1Pressed
   lda joy1
   rts

ReadJOY1_8:
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   eor #$FF
   rts

Strobe:
   ldx #1
   stx JOY1
   lda JOY1
   dex
   stx JOY1
   and #$FC
   tax
   rts


_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Version 0.14
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Many thanks Dwedit, I've found and correct the bug and now I can return to work on the mmc3 implementation.

Changelog:
0.14:
Correct a a bug in the controller routine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Version 0.15
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Changelog:
0.15:
added MMC3 emulation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3969
Great job, looking good so far.

The title screen of Kick Master is a little wavy though.

You should add in Mapper #7 (AOROM) so you can try the emulator torture testing games, like Battletoads.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: version 0.16
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
thanks Dwedit. I'have investigated on the problem with Kick Master and this release is the result. I have to do a couple of things on the mmc3 and then I can work to the next mapper.

Changelog:
0.16:
correct a couple of bugs in the mmc3 emulation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Version 0.17
PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Changelog:
0.17:
fixed another bug and now Incredible Crash Dummies run without problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Version 0.18
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Changelog:
0.18:
added AxROM (mapper 7) emulation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3969
Many emulators are well known for their little quirks, the little things they get slightly off, it kind of acts as a signature that tells you that you are using that emulator. Sort of establishes the character of an emulator.

But this one plays Battletoads and Micro Machines perfectly! Who needs quirks when you have accuracy!

Now it just needs Sound, and some other mappers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19355
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Dwedit wrote:
Who needs quirks when you have accuracy!

Puyo fans, for one. The official port of Puyo to DOS and Mac was called Qwirks. It was published by Spectrum Holobyte, as part of the "Alexey Pajitnov tried this and liked it so much he put his picture on the box" series.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 3192
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
tepples wrote:
Dwedit wrote:
Who needs quirks when you have accuracy!

Puyo fans, for one. The official port of Puyo to DOS and Mac was called Qwirks. It was published by Spectrum Holobyte, as part of the "Alexey Pajitnov tried this and liked it so much he put his picture on the box" series.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 2983
Location: Tampere, Finland
Seems like a decent emu, but it hogs one CPU core completely. Maybe something you want to look into. It might be SDL's (or display drivers'?) fault though, I remember using SDL_GL_SwapBuffers() in one of my apps and it was hogging the whole core even when it was also waiting for vsync...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
I've uploade a modified version. Please thefox can you try it and tell me if eat less cpu? Many thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 2983
Location: Tampere, Finland
FHorse wrote:
I've uploade a modified version. Please thefox can you try it and tell me if eat less cpu? Many thanks.

This one eats ~45% in software rendering mode, ~52% in OpenGL mode.

The previous one ate exactly 50% in s/w rendering and little bit more in OpenGL as well.

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: kkfos.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 3969
I think this is entirely the fault of bad Vsync code. DirectDraw provides horrible vblank waiting code, then SDL uses that horrible vblank waiting code.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 722 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 49  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group