nesdev.com
http://forums.nesdev.com/

puNES Emulator
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6928
Page 3 of 49

Author:  FHorse [ Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:29 pm ]
Post subject: 

New version added.

Changelog:
0.13:
Correct a little bug and now all cpu_interrupts_v2 test roms passed.

Author:  Dwedit [ Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:33 pm ]
Post subject: 

You should also fix the controller input problem. The problem with joystick input not working correctly that I mentioned earlier has nothing to with mappers.

This is the joystick code I'm using, it's a bit non-standard.

Right now, it seems that buttons and keypresses are shifted one bit over.
My guess is that it's shifting the register during the read in the strobe routine when it shouldn't.

JOY1 = $4016

Code:
ReadJoypad1:
   lda joy1
   sta joy1last
   
   jsr Strobe
   jsr ReadJOY1_8
   sta joy1
ReadJoy1Again:   
   jsr Strobe
   jsr ReadJOY1_8
   cmp joy1
   sta joy1
   bne ReadJoy1Again
   
   eor joy1last
   and joy1
   sta joy1Pressed
   lda joy1
   rts

ReadJOY1_8:
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   cpx JOY1
   ror a
   eor #$FF
   rts

Strobe:
   ldx #1
   stx JOY1
   lda JOY1
   dex
   stx JOY1
   and #$FC
   tax
   rts


Author:  FHorse [ Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:00 am ]
Post subject:  Version 0.14

Many thanks Dwedit, I've found and correct the bug and now I can return to work on the mmc3 implementation.

Changelog:
0.14:
Correct a a bug in the controller routine.

Author:  FHorse [ Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Version 0.15

Changelog:
0.15:
added MMC3 emulation.

Author:  Dwedit [ Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:12 pm ]
Post subject: 

Great job, looking good so far.

The title screen of Kick Master is a little wavy though.

You should add in Mapper #7 (AOROM) so you can try the emulator torture testing games, like Battletoads.

Author:  FHorse [ Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:07 pm ]
Post subject:  version 0.16

thanks Dwedit. I'have investigated on the problem with Kick Master and this release is the result. I have to do a couple of things on the mmc3 and then I can work to the next mapper.

Changelog:
0.16:
correct a couple of bugs in the mmc3 emulation.

Author:  FHorse [ Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Version 0.17

Changelog:
0.17:
fixed another bug and now Incredible Crash Dummies run without problems.

Author:  FHorse [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Version 0.18

Changelog:
0.18:
added AxROM (mapper 7) emulation.

Author:  Dwedit [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:51 pm ]
Post subject: 

Many emulators are well known for their little quirks, the little things they get slightly off, it kind of acts as a signature that tells you that you are using that emulator. Sort of establishes the character of an emulator.

But this one plays Battletoads and Micro Machines perfectly! Who needs quirks when you have accuracy!

Now it just needs Sound, and some other mappers.

Author:  tepples [ Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:57 pm ]
Post subject: 

Dwedit wrote:
Who needs quirks when you have accuracy!

Puyo fans, for one. The official port of Puyo to DOS and Mac was called Qwirks. It was published by Spectrum Holobyte, as part of the "Alexey Pajitnov tried this and liked it so much he put his picture on the box" series.

Author:  koitsu [ Wed Mar 02, 2011 12:53 am ]
Post subject: 

tepples wrote:
Dwedit wrote:
Who needs quirks when you have accuracy!

Puyo fans, for one. The official port of Puyo to DOS and Mac was called Qwirks. It was published by Spectrum Holobyte, as part of the "Alexey Pajitnov tried this and liked it so much he put his picture on the box" series.


Image

Author:  thefox [ Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:01 am ]
Post subject: 

Seems like a decent emu, but it hogs one CPU core completely. Maybe something you want to look into. It might be SDL's (or display drivers'?) fault though, I remember using SDL_GL_SwapBuffers() in one of my apps and it was hogging the whole core even when it was also waiting for vsync...

Author:  FHorse [ Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:23 am ]
Post subject: 

I've uploade a modified version. Please thefox can you try it and tell me if eat less cpu? Many thanks.

Author:  thefox [ Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:37 am ]
Post subject: 

FHorse wrote:
I've uploade a modified version. Please thefox can you try it and tell me if eat less cpu? Many thanks.

This one eats ~45% in software rendering mode, ~52% in OpenGL mode.

The previous one ate exactly 50% in s/w rendering and little bit more in OpenGL as well.

Author:  Dwedit [ Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:52 am ]
Post subject: 

I think this is entirely the fault of bad Vsync code. DirectDraw provides horrible vblank waiting code, then SDL uses that horrible vblank waiting code.

Page 3 of 49 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/