It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:18 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 721 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26 ... 49  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:36 am
Posts: 257
Location: Russia
The NTSC fliter at 3x-size looks very harsh EVEN in fullscreen mode:

Window 2x / Fullscreen 2x:
Image Image

Window 3x / Fullscreen 3x:
Image Image
Note that the 3x-fullscreen looks compressed horizontally.

Window 4x / Fullscreen 4x:
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Version 0.80
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 10:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Changelog:
0.80
Completed porting to DirectX. Both versions are now available for windows (SDL and D3D). I tried to share as much code as possible in order to make maintenance easier and this has led me to heavy internal changes so if someone finds some roms that worked with the previous version, can contact me. In addition, this revision work has brought to light many existing bugs that have been fixed (maybe replaced by others) for all versions (Linux and Windows). I stopped to make a list of all fixes some time ago so I can only advise you to download it, you will find it more stable and more efficient. A big thank you to all those who gave me a hand in the beta testing phase (Eugene.s, Kirkor, OldGhost, kaz321123, sedusg, Darkness Knight, mangamuscle and the other guys).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 9:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:36 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Chile
New version! great! thanks for your work ;)

Salu2 - Darkness Knight

_________________
CPU: Core i7 4770k @ 3.9GHz.
GPU: Geforce GTX780 GHz (GK110-B1) @ v340.43 BETA.
SPU: X-Fi Titanium PCIe @ v11.2.40.0008 WHQL.
O.S: Windows 8.1.1 Pro x64.

Mi canal en Youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/user/darknessknightes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Version 0.81
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 5:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Changelog:
0.81
Added option "TV Aspect Ratio" in the video settings that simulates the screen format of the old televisions (4:3).
Added option "Interpolation" which enables, regardless of the type of filter used, the bilinear interpolation of the image.
Set to "1" the default value for the delay of the turbo buttons.
Fixed a memory leak in version D3D9.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Version 0.81
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 8:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19119
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
FHorse wrote:
Added option "TV Aspect Ratio" in the video settings that simulates the screen format of the old televisions (4:3).

How does this work? What rectangle is stretched to 4:3?

To simulate what the NES actually does, pad the picture with the border color ($3F00) to 280x240 pixels and then stretch it to 4:3.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Version 0.81
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
tepples wrote:
To simulate what the NES actually does, pad the picture with the border color ($3F00) to 280x240 pixels and then stretch it to 4:3.
I did not know, for now I stretched the entire screen without making any padding, and yes I really want simulate what the NES actually does. I'll try to also implement this feature. Thx for the info.
P.s. Do you have any link where can I find more information?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Version 0.81
PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:13 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 2963
Location: Tampere, Finland
tepples wrote:
FHorse wrote:
Added option "TV Aspect Ratio" in the video settings that simulates the screen format of the old televisions (4:3).

How does this work? What rectangle is stretched to 4:3?

To simulate what the NES actually does, pad the picture with the border color ($3F00) to 280x240 pixels and then stretch it to 4:3.

Note that just padding with border color in post-process phase is not enough, because if the background color is changed mid-screen, that also affects the borders.

I would be very happy to finally see an emulator that would take the NTSC NES borders into account. Also note that the borders are always black on PAL NES.

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: kkfos.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 1:44 pm
Posts: 5
FHorse, what do you think about viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6928&start=285#p122877


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Greg Ayrton wrote:
FHorse, what do you think about viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6928&start=285#p122877
Private Message


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 1:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 3:21 pm
Posts: 11
Ouch.

Image

Kaettekita Mario Bros.fds, 3rd option in main menu. Using the D3D9 Win32 build. Can provide the ROM if needed. TIA!
PD: Yours the best FDS sound heard from an emu so far, well done!
NSF support, yay!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Version 0.82
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 1:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Changelog:
0.82
Correct Scale2x with Interpolation active in the SDL version.
Added options to disable text on screen.
Added the ability to set the size of the borders of the overscan.
With the overscan active not passed the correct size of the virtual screen to the shader and this involved distortions (see, for example, the filter "CRT" with overscan active in the old version). Fixed.
Fixed a bug in the management of the IRQ of the FDS and now "Kaettekita Mario Bros. (1988) (Nintendo) (J). Fds" is fully playable.
D3D9:
Fixed a serious bug that did not pass the correct size of the window of the emulator to the shader, producing undesirable results (such as, for example, with the scanlines filter).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 8:20 am 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Brazil
256x240 -> 640x480 :P
So, isn't the TV aspect?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 8:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19119
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Scaling from 256x240 or 512x480 to 640x480, as shown in vuehbwhq's screenshot, produces an image that's a bit too wide (5:4 pixel aspect ratio). Accurate NTSC TV picture dimensions, as defined in BT.601, give 8:7 PAR. There are two ways to achieve 8:7:
  1. In full screen mode, add borders on the sides to 280x240, run a scaler (pixel doubler, Scale2x, or hq2x) to produce a 512x480 picture, and resize the result to 640x480.
  2. In windowed mode, run a scaler to produce a 512x480 picture, and then resize the result to 584x480.
Is this what you're doing now?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 225
Zepper wrote:
256x240 -> 640x480 :P
So, isn't the TV aspect?
You're right, now I understand that it is not. I should have called it "5:4 pixel aspect ratio." :)
tepples wrote:
Scaling from 256x240 or 512x480 to 640x480, as shown in vuehbwhq's screenshot, produces an image that's a bit too wide (5:4 pixel aspect ratio). Accurate NTSC TV picture dimensions, as defined in BT.601, give 8:7 PAR. There are two ways to achieve 8:7:
  1. In full screen mode, add borders on the sides to 280x240, run a scaler (pixel doubler, Scale2x, or hq2x) to produce a 512x480 picture, and resize the result to 640x480.
  2. In windowed mode, run a scaler to produce a 512x480 picture, and then resize the result to 584x480.
Is this what you're doing now?
Actually no, that's not what I do. Wrongly I just kept an pixel aspect ratio of 5:4. Ok, I found the wiki page which explains everything (http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Overscan). I will correct the management of the aspect ratio to make it as accurate as possible. Tepples, can I bother you via private message if I need some advice?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:14 pm
Posts: 38
Wow this emulator have grown so much since i started using it (v068) and new releases are popping up very frequently.
I'm glad I found an NES and FDS emulator I can stick with for life because puNES is the most perfect NES and FDS emulator I have ever used.

I'm being spoiled completely!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 721 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26 ... 49  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group