nesdev.com
http://forums.nesdev.com/

puNES Emulator
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6928
Page 31 of 49

Author:  rainwarrior [ Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

StarTropics having no audio and being unable to create a new game slot has to do with the MMC6/MMC3 conflation in Mapper 4.

There's a note about it on the wiki

A common solution is not to implement the write protection, which will support StarTropics and its sequel just fine, and is not needed by other MMC3 games.

The other problematic Mapper 4 game is Low G Man. It's got a bug in its music code that reads from the open bus area where WRAM would normally be present. I don't know of a simple way to implement mapper 4 that reconciles this need without causing problems for StarTropics.

Author:  tepples [ Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

The proper way is NES 2.0 header. StarTropics series will have 1K of RAM, which should trigger a special case to use MMC6-style PRG RAM enable. Low G Man has no RAM.

Author:  SedrynTyros [ Sat Feb 21, 2015 6:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Is it just me or is state --> Decrement/Increment slot broken in v0.91 d3d 64-bit? It worked fine in v0.90.

EDIT:

Correction: the display of said save state slots is broken. In v0.90 it would correctly show which slot you have selected in Windowed mode. Now if you increment/decrement the slot the Windowed gui display doesn't reflect that change; needless to say, that's a bit confusing.

Author:  FHorse [ Sun Feb 22, 2015 2:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

SedrynTyros wrote:
Is it just me or is state --> Decrement/Increment slot broken in v0.91 d3d 64-bit? It worked fine in v0.90.

EDIT:

Correction: the display of said save state slots is broken. In v0.90 it would correctly show which slot you have selected in Windowed mode. Now if you increment/decrement the slot the Windowed gui display doesn't reflect that change; needless to say, that's a bit confusing.
Fixed in the WIP. Thx for the report.

Author:  Black Zero [ Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

I'm posting a bug report regarding input configuration on v091 SDL x64 and it's a rather serious one.

I'm using a real NES controller connected to an adapter and it have worked fine since v084 through v090

The controller is recognized and appears in the list but I'm unable to map any buttons at all, and if I want to cancel the process the emulator goes into a Not Responding phase and I have to force close it resulting in a crash.

Basically, I click unset all and try to map the controller but it just won't work.

If I open the input.cfg file in Notepad I can map the controller there just fine and it works great afterwards and I can see the result in input configuration in the emulator.

Also if I open game pad properties in the control panel in Windows the buttons works just fine, I'm on Windows 8.1 Professional x64 Update 3 BTW.
So there is nothing wrong with the controller or the adapter.

I have only tried with the SDL version and my NES controller.

Otherwise v091 is a good solid release and I'm amazed that my save states from v068 still works, other emulators tend to be sensitive to use older save states when a new version is out.

Author:  FHorse [ Tue Feb 24, 2015 5:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Black Zero wrote:
I'm posting a bug report regarding input configuration on v091 SDL x64 and it's a rather serious one.

I'm using a real NES controller connected to an adapter and it have worked fine since v084 through v090

The controller is recognized and appears in the list but I'm unable to map any buttons at all, and if I want to cancel the process the emulator goes into a Not Responding phase and I have to force close it resulting in a crash.

Basically, I click unset all and try to map the controller but it just won't work.

If I open the input.cfg file in Notepad I can map the controller there just fine and it works great afterwards and I can see the result in input configuration in the emulator.

Also if I open game pad properties in the control panel in Windows the buttons works just fine, I'm on Windows 8.1 Professional x64 Update 3 BTW.
So there is nothing wrong with the controller or the adapter.

I have only tried with the SDL version and my NES controller.

Otherwise v091 is a good solid release and I'm amazed that my save states from v068 still works, other emulators tend to be sensitive to use older save states when a new version is out.
I have tested a lot of the new version before releasing it, but it is possible that some bugs I missed :wink: . Now I'm working, I'll contact you later in PM.

Author:  Black Zero [ Tue Feb 24, 2015 6:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

FHorse wrote:
I have tested a lot of the new version before releasing it, but it is possible that some bugs I missed :wink: . Now I'm working, I'll contact you later in PM.


Thanks FHorse, looking forward to it.
It might be related to the new GUI or something but if I map the controller in the input.cfg, the controller works.

Author:  rainwarrior [ Tue Feb 24, 2015 12:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Your noise implementation requires oversampling to get the correct timbre at high noise frequencies. The top 3 or 4 noise frequencies sound like identical white noise on punES 0.91, and the equivalent periodic modes don't have the correct pitch either. This makes percussion using the higher frequencies sound uncharacteristically loud, as the white noise is stronger than what the NES outputs in that range.

I would assume that you are at most ticking the noise unit once per sample? You should tick it as many times as needed per sample and average the output result. (There are more advanced ways to oversample the noise, but this will get you in the right ballpark.)

Attached is NES/NSF test of all 16 noise frequency settings, and periodic as well. It was quickly made with FamiTracker.

Attachments:
noise_test.nsf [5.64 KiB]
Downloaded 58 times
noise_test.nes [32.02 KiB]
Downloaded 79 times

Author:  uVSthem [ Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:42 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

This is a great emulator. Is there any way to enter Game Genie codes without using the Game Genie rom?

Author:  FHorse [ Wed Mar 04, 2015 2:16 am ]
Post subject:  Version 0.92

Changelog:
0.92
- A new icon (thx to Phil Pinsonneault).
- Added the ability to configure the shortcuts and associate them with a button of the joystick.
- Increased the number of save slots to 10.
- Added, in fullscreen mode, an overlay that shows when you select, save or load a save state.
- Fixed the display of the GUI when you increase or decrease the save slot.
- Fixed the shortcuts for Inc/Dec save slot (in 0.91, for a mistake, F2 = Inc and F3 = Dec).
- Fixed a bug that in rare circumstances did not allow the configuration of the joystick.
- Implemented properly the behavior of the mapper FME-7 (http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=12436&start=15#p142263).
- Fixed the issue with Startropics e Startropics II.

Author:  Black Zero [ Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Everything works on my end, great release FHorse!

Author:  Greg Ayrton [ Sat Mar 07, 2015 2:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

There is click of sound when open roms (Duck Tales 2 for example). In Nestopia it's allright. My OS - Windows XP, Sound Card - Realtek

Author:  tepples [ Sat Mar 07, 2015 8:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

Accurate. I just tested on an NES, and there's a click when you start a ROM there.

Author:  elcorsico [ Sun Mar 08, 2015 8:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

cool emu puNES is very important emu for NES system

please add the cover into menu selection game ?.

is it possible to include to puNES ??

thanks developpers

excuse for my bad english , i'm french Geek ;-)

regards,
puNES for EVER ;-)

Author:  breaker1976 [ Sun Mar 08, 2015 9:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: puNES Emulator (ex Fnes)

rom Titenic_(Unl)_(As)_(f1).nes - not work on punes.
This unlicensed game works on emulators: nessie1.02, virtuanes 0.97e.
download this rom: http://lancuster.spaces.ru/files/?r=mai ... sid=::sid::

Page 31 of 49 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/