nesdev.com
http://forums.nesdev.com/

Broken audio in Startropics 1 & 2
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9685
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Zelex [ Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Broken audio in Startropics 1 & 2

I somehow broke audio in Startropics 1 and 2. I just get a weird, repeating, non-discernable noise. All other games work fine as far as I can tell. Do these games do anything special?

The rest of the game appears to work fine, just the audio is broken.

Author:  Zelex [ Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Broken audio in Startropics 1 & 2

Noise is coming from the Noise channel. Go figure.

Typical APU writes are:

$10 = $00
$11 = $00
$17 = $40
$15 = $0f
$15 = $00
$11 = $50

This part repeated at the start of every frame and no other writes.
$15 = $00
$15 = $00
$15 = $08
$0c = $00
$0e = $01
$0f = $08
$15 = $08
$0c = $00
$0e = $01
$0f = $08
$15 = $00

Author:  Zelex [ Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Broken audio in Startropics 1 & 2

Figured it out. It has something to do with disabling/enabling WRAM.

Author:  Zelex [ Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Broken audio in Startropics 1 & 2

Docs say that it is not MMC3, but MMC6. That explains it. I'll hit this up later tonight.

Author:  Zelex [ Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Broken audio in Startropics 1 & 2

fixed

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/