Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
James
Posts: 429
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 8:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by James » Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:41 am

Can you post before/after screenshots of Bomberman running under HDNes?
get nemulator
http://nemulator.com

mkwong98
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:49 pm

I'm not using Bomberman as an example. It is Bombsweeper, a free NES rom. So every one can try it without any copyright problem.

I'll post some screenshots tonight.

Which free picture hosting site do you recommend?

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2275
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by 3gengames » Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:51 pm

Imgur.

tepples
Posts: 21985
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by tepples » Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:04 pm

Or just the attachment button right here.

mkwong98
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 6:35 am

Here are some screenshots
Attachments
Without the pack
Without the pack
With the pack
With the pack
Last edited by mkwong98 on Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

WedNESday
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by WedNESday » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:23 am

...Think just one of those screenshots would have done. Thanks. :lol:

3gengames
Formerly 65024U
Posts: 2275
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by 3gengames » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:31 am

Check the score text on the top compared to the bottom.

And why is the bomb missing the 2nd sprite?

mkwong98
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 9:17 am

Thanks for asking! I didn't notice that before. Turn out my program has problems when sprite is exactly on the edge of the screen.

The problem is fixed and I updated the attachment and the screen shots.
I also finished the GUI for the screen resolution and input settings.
The screen resolution sometimes has problems if it is not a multiple of 256x240.

Now I'm having trouble with the title screen of Zelda. The waterfall looks wrong and the title screen has the flickering on the top right. Any suggestions?

mkwong98
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:26 am

Turns out there are too many sprites on the screen at the same time and I have a buffer overrun. Now I have problems with mapper 1 games with chr rom. I think my bank switching code is wrong.

mkwong98
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes (updated 25-3-2013)

Post by mkwong98 » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:48 am

Mapper 000 - 003 games are now playable and battery back up supported.

mkwong98
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:02 am

1-4-2013
Graphics pack editor is now usable
Last edited by mkwong98 on Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:41 am, edited 2 times in total.

mkwong98
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:15 am

2-4-2013
i ) Fixed severl bugs
ii) Save state function added

User avatar
Movax12
Posts: 522
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:50 am

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by Movax12 » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:04 am

I tried the new version. I can't get it to do anything. Does it require a newer version of Windows than Windows XP? It crashed as soon as I pressed "Start game". (Just after it tried to create a "SDL_app" window. )

mkwong98
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:22 pm

Did you use the old version before? A new 'edit' folder is added to the new version and it may crash if the folder does not exists.

mkwong98
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Sat Apr 06, 2013 6:41 am

6-4-2013:
1. Added support to some MMC3 games.
2. Improved playing of CHR RAM games.

Post Reply