Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Discuss emulation of the Nintendo Entertainment System and Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

mkwong98
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 11:39 pm

I'll focus on CHR RAM games once I finish adding the meta-sprite function and make a graphics pack for Astyanax.

Nesd4
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:02 am

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by Nesd4 » Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:00 am

mkwong98 wrote:Hi, I recently resumed working on my emulator and now I think I have enough to show. The gimmick of the emulator is the ability to display custom true colour tiles at up to 4x resolution.

Link:
See the attachment of the third message

BombSweeper is used as an example and a simple 2x graphics pack is included in the files which replace the number tiles. You need to download and put BombSweeper.nes inside the rom folder. You can play around with the png files inside the BombSweeper folder and see the results. The emulator is still in early stage and so lacks many standard features. Please read the readme for the limitations before using it. Feel free to comment and please let me know if you have trouble running the emulator on your machine.

Thanks.
Hi this emulator is extremely impressive http://www.emutalk.net/threads/55446-ne ... ario-hdnes! but are there any plans to increase accuracy, compatibility and add support for the missing mappers? Are tiles with resolutions higher than 4x possible? xBRZ filter would be very good too. http://sourceforge.net/projects/xbrz/files/xBRZ/
By the way what do you think about a libretro port?

mkwong98
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Wed Apr 22, 2015 7:53 pm

Nesd4 wrote:Hi this emulator is extremely impressive http://www.emutalk.net/threads/55446-ne ... ario-hdnes! but are there any plans to increase accuracy, compatibility and add support for the missing mappers? Are tiles with resolutions higher than 4x possible? xBRZ filter would be very good too. http://sourceforge.net/projects/xbrz/files/xBRZ/
By the way what do you think about a libretro port?
Thank you. My plan is to make graphics pack for a few games to see what the emulator still needs and implement them. After this I'll work on performance, accuracy, compatibility and missing mappers. Once the performance is good enough, I'll think about higher resolutions and filters.

My idea is that since the palette of NES is so limited, it will greatly improve the filter if it is designed to be NES palette specific filter rather than a general filter. This mean the emulator will output the screen as an array of color indexes and the filter will output the final color.

I don't know much about libretro so I'll have a look, thank you for suggesting.

Nesd4
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:02 am

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by Nesd4 » Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:16 pm

mkwong98 wrote:
Nesd4 wrote:Hi this emulator is extremely impressive http://www.emutalk.net/threads/55446-ne ... ario-hdnes! but are there any plans to increase accuracy, compatibility and add support for the missing mappers? Are tiles with resolutions higher than 4x possible? xBRZ filter would be very good too. http://sourceforge.net/projects/xbrz/files/xBRZ/
By the way what do you think about a libretro port?
Thank you. My plan is to make graphics pack for a few games to see what the emulator still needs and implement them. After this I'll work on performance, accuracy, compatibility and missing mappers. Once the performance is good enough, I'll think about higher resolutions and filters.

My idea is that since the palette of NES is so limited, it will greatly improve the filter if it is designed to be NES palette specific filter rather than a general filter. This mean the emulator will output the screen as an array of color indexes and the filter will output the final color.

I don't know much about libretro so I'll have a look, thank you for suggesting.
I left you a private message.

Nesd4
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:02 am

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by Nesd4 » Sun Apr 26, 2015 11:38 pm

Another message.

LittleMike
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 6:43 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by LittleMike » Fri Oct 30, 2015 10:35 pm

any news?

mkwong98
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Sat Oct 31, 2015 2:39 am

Not much, don't have time to work on it for the past few months due to work. Now my workload is a bit lighter, I'm working on this again. Currently the screen is stored as lots of strips (one strip is one row from a tile). Now I'm planning a big rewrite of the screen rendering part for the following:
1. group the related strips back into a tile so that the emulator can recognize meta sprite patterns
2. store graphics in the texture cache in tile form instead of strips
3. split the texture cache into standard size and HD size
4. reduce a volume of redundant work by having a better way of storing and searching texture data across frames

Then I'll need to update the GUI to handle meta sprite. I hope to make a release before the end of the year but don't count on it.

Thank you for your interest!

Nesd4
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:02 am

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by Nesd4 » Thu Nov 19, 2015 2:35 am

mkwong98 wrote:Not much, don't have time to work on it for the past few months due to work. Now my workload is a bit lighter, I'm working on this again. Currently the screen is stored as lots of strips (one strip is one row from a tile). Now I'm planning a big rewrite of the screen rendering part for the following:
1. group the related strips back into a tile so that the emulator can recognize meta sprite patterns
2. store graphics in the texture cache in tile form instead of strips
3. split the texture cache into standard size and HD size
4. reduce a volume of redundant work by having a better way of storing and searching texture data across frames

Then I'll need to update the GUI to handle meta sprite. I hope to make a release before the end of the year but don't count on it.

Thank you for your interest!
Any further news? By the way is tile replacement in HDNes purely software rendering or is it done on the GPU?

mkwong98
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 9:01 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by mkwong98 » Thu Nov 19, 2015 9:28 am

Nesd4 wrote:Any further news? By the way is tile replacement in HDNes purely software rendering or is it done on the GPU?
Not much news, can't find much free time to work on it :(
The replacement is done on the GPU.

Tygerbug
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 5:15 pm

Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Post by Tygerbug » Wed Mar 28, 2018 5:35 pm

I see someone else did Super Mario Bros. Would love this graphics pack, though I wouldn't be able to resist reworking it. If I had time.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfqtOXZoyVo

Post Reply