nesdev.com
http://forums.nesdev.com/

Please try my NES emulator HDNes
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9935
Page 3 of 19

Author:  mkwong98 [ Sat Apr 13, 2013 7:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

13-4-2013:

1. Fixed incorrect tiles in MMC3 games (SMB3 map screen)
2. Fixed a out of range PRG address in MMC3 (TMNT-TF)
3. Fixed incorrect path for game save files
4. Fixed a slow down bug
5. Update the game save file when closing the game instead of closing the program
6. Little speed up for repeating background tiles
7. Added support to Bandai FCG boards games.

Many thanks to Quietust for helping with EEPROM of Bandai FCG board

Author:  koitsu [ Sat Apr 13, 2013 8:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Tip of friendly advice:

When releasing software publicly, do not get into the habit of saying "Many bugs fixed" or "Bugs fixed" as part of your ChangeLog -- it does not instil confidence. Itemise/list off every bug you fix.

Author:  mkwong98 [ Sat Apr 13, 2013 9:55 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Thanks for the tip. I'll fix it.

Author:  Zepper [ Sat Apr 13, 2013 3:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

koitsu wrote:
Tip of friendly advice:

When releasing software publicly, do not get into the habit of saying "Many bugs fixed" or "Bugs fixed" as part of your ChangeLog -- it does not instil confidence. Itemise/list off every bug you fix.


Fixed a few other bugs that I don't remember. :)
Cosmetic changes in the GUI.

Author:  mkwong98 [ Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

14-4-2013:

1. Added "All" to screen shot combo box on the "Graphics Pack Editor" page. This will show all tiles.
2. The tile list is now ordered by tile ID.
3. Reduced the size of the auto generated images. Having too many tiles on one image makes it difficult to see and choose the correct tile.
4. Change the screen shot format to PNG to reduce the file size of the data generated for the graphics pack editor.

Please note that now using data generation may cause slow down to the emulator. I'm using wxImage to save it in PNG format. Any suggestions of faster way of doing this is welcome.

Also if you have generated some data using previous versions, you must convert all BMP files inside the "edit" folder into PNG before using the graphics pack editor. I used batch conversion of IrfanView for this.

Author:  nesguru [ Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

This is very exciting! For a long time I've wondered how difficult it would be to implement higher color and display resolutions on the NES.

I downloaded the emulator but couldn't figure out how to get the high res images to appear for BombSweeper.

Also, I can't close the program using the Windows close icon. I have to force it to shut down using Task Manager.

Author:  Zepper [ Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

URL for downloading it? :|

EDIT: Oh, it's here.

Author:  mkwong98 [ Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Thank you for using the emulator!

You can press ESC key to close the game.

I haven't updated the Bombsweeper graphics pack for the later versions of the emulator, so it is not included with the download. Now that the editor has most of the functions I wanted, I will update the pack shortly. Then after downloading the pack, the pack must be placed in the same directory as the rom file and has the same name as the rom file.

To make your own HD graphics pack, check the "generate data" option and play the game as normal. The emulator will record all the tiles and colors used during the gameplay. Then the easiest way is to go to the graphics pack editor, select a scale factor and click the "auto generate" button. The emulator will dump all those tiles into image files with correct connections. Now go to the rom directory and look for a sub directory with the same name as the game. The generated images will be inside there. You can edit the image files and your changes will appear when you play the game.

Author:  nesguru [ Mon Apr 15, 2013 7:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Thanks, I'll give it a try.

Author:  mkwong98 [ Mon Apr 15, 2013 8:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

15-4-2013:
1. Fixed a bug with the "cancel selection" button on the graphics pack editor page.
2. When showing a box around the selected custom tile, the box is not visible if it is on top of transparent pixels. Now it is always visible.
3. Updated the BombSweeper graphics pack to the latest version and added it to the download. To use it, copy it from the rom directory and paste it into the actual rom directory. The pack is designed for 4x scale display.

Author:  nesguru [ Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:32 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

I tried following your instructions to generate graphics for The Legend of Zelda but I couldn't find any image files in the subfolder that was created for the game. I checked "Generate data..." on the Video tab, set the screen size to 4x, started the game, played for a couple of minutes, then went back to the Graphics Pack Editor and clicked "Auto generate." Nothing happened. Then I exited the game and tried the same thing but it still didn't work. Am I doing something wrong?

Author:  Zelex [ Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:26 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

This is quite cool! Great work!! =D

Do you have graphics packs for any other games?

Author:  X-or [ Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

don't be a fag, play nes like a man, play nes at nes resolution, period

all these silly filters are plain fugly in addition of being untrue to the real nes experience

Author:  cpow [ Tue Apr 16, 2013 1:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

koitsu wrote:
Tip of friendly advice:

When releasing software publicly, do not get into the habit of saying "Many bugs fixed" or "Bugs fixed" as part of your ChangeLog -- it does not instil confidence. Itemise/list off every bug you fix.


Haha! I am way guilty of this. :oops:

Author:  mkwong98 [ Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Please try my NES emulator HDNes

Zelda is a chr ram game so you need to uncheck the last option as well. But if the game modify the tiles before showing it on screen or read other prg data before sending it to chr ram then that option will show incorrect tiles.

Page 3 of 19 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/