It is currently Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:04 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 5:02 pm
Posts: 33
Aha, yep, that is indeed what it is, makes sense


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:09 pm
Posts: 1005
Small glitch: Unused sprites should be at Y=EFh..FEh. They are currently at Y=FFh (first scanline). NTSC would usually crop that, but it would be visible on PAL.

I tried the game yesterday and it felt a bit too easy (even without buying or using any extra items). Though today it felt more difficult, and I even managed to die today. I think the difference was that I were killing all enemies one after another yesterday, and tried to pass by enemies without attacking them today.

The falling leaves are really neat - especially in the R.I.P. screen.

Seeing more and more new levels unlocked is also nice.

Don't know if that would fit in: But one could also add puzzle elements, like needing keys or spells to open locked doors or passages. It might slowdown the gameflow though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 11412
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
nocash wrote:
Unused sprites should be at Y=EFh..FEh. They are currently at Y=FFh (first scanline).

What? AFAIK, no, Y=$FF does not put sprites at the top of the screen. The wiki also confirms that $FF is a valid Y coordinate for hiding sprites.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:09 am 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 2024
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Yes, afaik and a little unfortunately sprites will "pop" when overflowing the y axis (in that they don't wrap around halfway), and you can't put sprites visible on the very first scanline.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 10:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:09 pm
Posts: 1005
Oops, my specs might be a bit outdated then.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 3:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:15 am
Posts: 529
I'm confused. Can I keep the sprites at Y=$FF, or should I change it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:17 pm 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 2024
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
i think nocash might've meant that since a sprite is shown on the line below its actual value, a sprite att $ff would show on scanline 0. Or maybe they meant something else: because lines 240-260 (idle line + vblank lines) are padding between lines 239 and 0, a sprite could wrap around just a little on NTSC (but this is masked by overscan), assuming that's how it works*. On PAL or Dendy, the vblank period is longer.

*Then again, i'm not sure if sprites are carried over to the next frame at all. I don't think so, but honestly don't know. The answer is probably somewhere on the wiki.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Last edited by FrankenGraphics on Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 21591
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Sprites do not wrap on NES. Only the background allows "negative" scroll values, an artifact of treating the attribute table as two rows of tilemap above the top row.

_________________
Pin Eight | Twitter | GitHub | Patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:15 am
Posts: 529
Submitted and updated the OP with version 3. The changes are minor, but largely regard balance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:00 pm 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 2024
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
How does armor plate work? once bought, always equipped? Is it possible to stack?

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 7582
Location: Canada
Very nice music. I notice the "No Weapon" is actually really a weapon? Like I am not allowed to hold "no weapon" in both hands? That seems funny. (Not that I need to... and I'd be tempted to call it a feature not bug for the sake that it amuses me.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 1:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:15 am
Posts: 529
FrankenGraphics wrote:
How does armor plate work? once bought, always equipped? Is it possible to stack?

Yes and yes. Buy it and it increases your defenses a little.

rainwarrior wrote:
Very nice music. I notice the "No Weapon" is actually really a weapon? Like I am not allowed to hold "no weapon" in both hands? That seems funny. (Not that I need to... and I'd be tempted to call it a feature not bug for the sake that it amuses me.)

Yeah unarmed attacks are implemented as a weapon. It's a bit silly, but that was the easiest way to code it.

Originally there was going to be more reasons to use unarmed attacks, but they were cut due to cartridge size limits.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 5:02 pm
Posts: 33
Something small, but if you hold Start to start the game, you will get the same starting floor layout every time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:58 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 2559
Location: DIGDUG
I just played this for the first time this morning. I find it fascinating. Good work.

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: We are Hejickle
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 2:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:03 am
Posts: 15
Whoa! This is hands down my favorite compo entry this year. I was a huge fan of Castle of the Winds when I was a kid. I spent hours playing that game. It was a rogue-like, but it used Windows icons for a tileset and was a bit more streamlined compared to other rogue-likes of its time. This is giving me huge vibes of that game, and I love it. Like, I love this. If you ever do a full cart release, it's an insta-buy for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group