It is currently Mon Jun 17, 2019 2:55 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 9:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 21440
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Someone has requested that I integrate my Pently audio driver with a Windows-only IDE known not to run in Wine or Mono. Switching between Windows, which contains the dev environment for this project, and Xubuntu, which contains the dev environment for other projects to which I am attached, takes several minutes on this laptop with 4 GB of RAM and a conventional HDD. What steps can I take to speed this up without spending a lot of money on hardware upgrades?

The alternative is to find some way to upgrade this request (that is, unpaid) to a commission (that is, paid), in order to cover the cost of other approaches I considered:

  1. Buying a second PC
  2. Buying more RAM and a non-OEM Windows license in order to run Windows in a VM; I'd need more RAM because dual booted Windows already takes 2.7 GB of my laptop's 4 GB of RAM, not leaving much for the host operating system if virtualized (or apps for that matter)
  3. Buying an SSD and an enclosure to migrate all my data

_________________
Pin Eight | Twitter | GitHub | Patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 9:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 694
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
SSD will provide biggest improvement with this problem. RAM is only going to alleviate slowness related issues when the bootup process is complete.

_________________
http://www.tmeeco.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 10:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 21440
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I was thinking RAM in order to be able to run Windows in a VM in the first place. But a 480 GB SSD + USB SATA enclosure looks like something I could pay for out of pocket. How hard is it to migrate Windows and Xubuntu installations from the 500 GB HDD that the laptop shipped with to a 480 GB SSD? Or would it better to do clean installs and forfeit my grandfathered Dropbox installations greater than three?

_________________
Pin Eight | Twitter | GitHub | Patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 11:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 2521
Location: DIGDUG
You shouldn't feel obligated to buy a VM, nor a 2nd machine just for 1 NESmaker user.

My opinion. You shouldn't have to put in more time and resources than the person using it.

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 12:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:21 pm
Posts: 614
Location: Central Illinois, USA
dougeff wrote:
You shouldn't feel obligated to buy a VM, nor a 2nd machine just for 1 NESmaker user.

My opinion. You shouldn't have to put in more time and resources than the person using it.


Well, the user he linked to was Joe, Mr NESmaker himself.

_________________
My games: http://www.bitethechili.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 1:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 7500
Location: Canada
I'm in agreement with dougeff.

Though on the subject of setting up a Windows VM for free, you can download and install the Windows 10 and never activate it. The restrictions of un-activated Windows 10 are mostly cosmetic, and it has no time limit:. Runs fine on VirtualBox.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/software-download/windows10

Though TBH the time it takes to install and set up Windows 10 in a VM is probably going to be a few hours, and the startup times aren't going to be swift. A several minute hardware reboot cycle might not be that much slower than trying to wake the suspended VM... but at least you can run both at once for back and forth testing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2019 3:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3689
Location: Indianapolis
tepples wrote:
How hard is it to migrate Windows and Xubuntu installations from the 500 GB HDD that the laptop shipped with to a 480 GB SSD?


When I copied my laptop drive to a much smaller SSD, I ended up just using software that came with the USB enclosure (maybe it was NTI Echo, that's what is still installed on there), it will reclaim unused space to resize the partitions. Other than that, you should run some kind of tool to check and align the partitions with the SSD. I guess the cloning software might do that already these days, one would hope.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group