help with gigabyte g41mt-es2l mother board

You can talk about almost anything that you want to on this board.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
ouso1999
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:04 am
Location: Cairo , Egypt
Contact:

help with gigabyte g41mt-es2l mother board

Post by ouso1999 » Sun Sep 01, 2013 2:20 am

I bumped into a weird problem , my built-in video card of g41mt-es2l mother board , is read 1024mb on XP and 64mb on Win 7 64 or 32 bit , however 1024 is the actual capacity.....
I don't know how win 7 reads it too low like this!!!!!!!!!and I can't find any option on bios enables me to increase it from 64mb to any capacity...
anyone here ever encountered or fixed a problem like this?and how?
______________________________________
Born to amuse, to inspire, to delight
Here one day
Gone one night
Like a sunset
Dying with the rising of the moon
Gone too soon


I missed u dad
_______________________________________

User avatar
koitsu
Posts: 4218
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Location: A world gone mad

Re: help with gigabyte g41mt-es2l mother board

Post by koitsu » Sun Sep 01, 2013 9:13 am

The motherboard itself isn't what's actually offering the GPU capability -- your CPU is what does. Intel's GMA is integrated into some models of CPUs as I'm sure you know, so the issue may be related to GPU drivers. Gigabyte Technical Support should be able to help you with this.

User avatar
ouso1999
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:04 am
Location: Cairo , Egypt
Contact:

Re: help with gigabyte g41mt-es2l mother board

Post by ouso1999 » Mon Sep 02, 2013 12:45 am

koitsu wrote:The motherboard itself isn't what's actually offering the GPU capability -- your CPU is what does. Intel's GMA is integrated into some models of CPUs as I'm sure you know, so the issue may be related to GPU drivers. Gigabyte Technical Support should be able to help you with this.
is there a way to know the actual capability of the VRAM just to be sure 8-) ? and BTW I kinda increased its capability from BIOS , thanks.
______________________________________
Born to amuse, to inspire, to delight
Here one day
Gone one night
Like a sunset
Dying with the rising of the moon
Gone too soon


I missed u dad
_______________________________________

User avatar
TmEE
Posts: 760
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
Contact:

Re: help with gigabyte g41mt-es2l mother board

Post by TmEE » Mon Sep 02, 2013 1:22 am

The memory is stolen from main RAM so it really does not matter if you have 32MB or 32GB.
Win7 probably allows dynamic allocation of it from the driver which is for the better, tying up a big chunk of your RAM for something that does not really give anything is not very useful. Tons of VRAM does not give any significant extra peformance, having a better GPU does, especially if its integrated video that steals its memory from main RAM.
GPUs all can stream data from main RAM since AGP times, and when main RAM is your VRAM there is no point in keeping that VRAM big.

tepples
Posts: 22044
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: help with gigabyte g41mt-es2l mother board

Post by tepples » Mon Sep 02, 2013 8:23 am

I think the point of having separate VRAM in the first place is to keep the CPU from having to wait for the GPU or vice versa. Compare the Commodore 64, whose VIC accesses RAM while the CPU's φ2 is low and occasionally has to pull RDY low for a burst of transfer during "bad lines", to the NES or any other Coleco-derivative architecture, whose PPU has full access to VRAM outside of vertical or forced blanking. Perhaps it's not so important on modern PCs because they have fat caches to get at least some work done while the equivalent of RDY is low.

Post Reply