It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:49 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 11:21 am 
Offline
Formerly AlienX
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:41 am
Posts: 133
Location: Bulgaria
If you look at this topic, you'll know I've been having issues with emulators lately. Another one is BizHawk. It needs the Visual C++ 2015 Runtime to... well... run. So I go to the official Microsoft website and download the latest Redistributable. I try to install it, but it ends up being stuck on "Processing Windows7_MSU_x64. Why? I have a 64-bit Windows 7, the installer is also for the 64-bit version, so it's not like it's trying to open something that isn't there. So, what's wrong here? Why won't it install?! I hope that somebody has a solution to this problem.

Thanks!


[This topic is about a particular C++ library implementation, not the C++ language itself. --Subject Fairy]

_________________
Greetings! I'm That Bio Mechanical Dude and I like creating various stuff like movies, games and of course chiptunes!
You can check out my YouTube Channel.
You can also follow me on Twitter.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 1:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:37 am
Posts: 208
Location: Wisconsin
I'm starting from square one, knowing nothing about you and your computer:

Is this VC runtime supported on your OS version, or is it too new?

How often do you reboot your OS? There could be a ton of installer script stuff waiting to run on the next powerup cycle. I have seen more people not reboot their computer than have, after a previous installer has asked "because what's the point" (sigh).

How much time are you giving it before you declare it stuck?

Would there be an antivirus/malware program running that is taking a very long time to scan when you double click the .exe file? Might want to disable antivirus from however its documentation says to temporarily disable it. Antivirus is also pretty dumb when it comes to not allowing Microsoft's own programs to replace system files, screwing up installations.

Might also need to right click the installer.exe and "Run as administrator".

Lastly, and as a last resort I know you don't want to hear. I can guarantee you that anything from Microsoft will install on a clean, freshly installed Microsoft OS (unless there are hardware faults at which that point if it's not something replaceable like the RAM or HDD, then chuck the entire computer into the nearest garbage dumpster after making copies of personal files).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 3:14 pm 
Offline
Formerly AlienX
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:41 am
Posts: 133
Location: Bulgaria
Well, these are the specs of the computer:
Intel Core i7 M620 (Dual Core 2.66 GHz)
8GB RAM
NVidia NVS 3100M Graphics card

The Windows was installed yesterday, all hardware components seem to be functioning properly. The OS is a 64-bit Windows 7 Professional with SP1 Installed.

whicker wrote:
How often do you reboot your OS? There could be a ton of installer script stuff waiting to run on the next powerup cycle. I have seen more people not reboot their computer than have, after a previous installer has asked "because what's the point" (sigh).

What exactly do you mean by that? To reboot it after the Runtime is installed or?

whicker wrote:
How much time are you giving it before you declare it stuck?

The installer starts up like any other software. Everything goes smooth and the installation begins. Right at the end it tries to process Windows7_MSU_x64, the first time it stood there for about 10-15 minutes, before I cancelled the installation. The setup is downloaded from Microsoft's website and it's intended for a 64-bit Windows 7.

_________________
Greetings! I'm That Bio Mechanical Dude and I like creating various stuff like movies, games and of course chiptunes!
You can check out my YouTube Channel.
You can also follow me on Twitter.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 3:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5722
Location: Canada
BioMechanical Dude wrote:
What exactly do you mean by that? To reboot it after the Runtime is installed or?

No. Reboot before you run the installer so that you don't have any lingering update/other processes running that might conflict.

You might also try booting in safe mode and uninstalling the existing redist installation before trying again?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 5:58 am 
Offline
Formerly AlienX
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:41 am
Posts: 133
Location: Bulgaria
Well, I did everything you've mentioned. Rebooted the system, turned off my antivirus software and ran the setup as an administrator. It worked! :) I installed both the 64-bit and 32-bit versions of the Runtime and now Bizhawk runs just fine. Thanks!

_________________
Greetings! I'm That Bio Mechanical Dude and I like creating various stuff like movies, games and of course chiptunes!
You can check out my YouTube Channel.
You can also follow me on Twitter.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group