Microsoft Visual C++ runtime nonsense

You can talk about almost anything that you want to on this board.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
BioMechanical Dude
Formerly AlienX
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:41 am
Location: Bulgaria

Microsoft Visual C++ runtime nonsense

Post by BioMechanical Dude » Sat Mar 05, 2016 11:21 am

If you look at this topic, you'll know I've been having issues with emulators lately. Another one is BizHawk. It needs the Visual C++ 2015 Runtime to... well... run. So I go to the official Microsoft website and download the latest Redistributable. I try to install it, but it ends up being stuck on "Processing Windows7_MSU_x64. Why? I have a 64-bit Windows 7, the installer is also for the 64-bit version, so it's not like it's trying to open something that isn't there. So, what's wrong here? Why won't it install?! I hope that somebody has a solution to this problem.

Thanks!


[This topic is about a particular C++ library implementation, not the C++ language itself. --Subject Fairy]
Greetings! I'm That Bio Mechanical Dude and I like creating various stuff like movies, games and of course chiptunes!
You can check out my YouTube Channel.
You can also follow me on Twitter.

User avatar
whicker
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:37 am
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Microsoft Visual C++ runtime nonsense

Post by whicker » Sat Mar 05, 2016 1:12 pm

I'm starting from square one, knowing nothing about you and your computer:

Is this VC runtime supported on your OS version, or is it too new?

How often do you reboot your OS? There could be a ton of installer script stuff waiting to run on the next powerup cycle. I have seen more people not reboot their computer than have, after a previous installer has asked "because what's the point" (sigh).

How much time are you giving it before you declare it stuck?

Would there be an antivirus/malware program running that is taking a very long time to scan when you double click the .exe file? Might want to disable antivirus from however its documentation says to temporarily disable it. Antivirus is also pretty dumb when it comes to not allowing Microsoft's own programs to replace system files, screwing up installations.

Might also need to right click the installer.exe and "Run as administrator".

Lastly, and as a last resort I know you don't want to hear. I can guarantee you that anything from Microsoft will install on a clean, freshly installed Microsoft OS (unless there are hardware faults at which that point if it's not something replaceable like the RAM or HDD, then chuck the entire computer into the nearest garbage dumpster after making copies of personal files).

User avatar
BioMechanical Dude
Formerly AlienX
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:41 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Microsoft Visual C++ runtime nonsense

Post by BioMechanical Dude » Sat Mar 05, 2016 3:14 pm

Well, these are the specs of the computer:
Intel Core i7 M620 (Dual Core 2.66 GHz)
8GB RAM
NVidia NVS 3100M Graphics card

The Windows was installed yesterday, all hardware components seem to be functioning properly. The OS is a 64-bit Windows 7 Professional with SP1 Installed.
whicker wrote:How often do you reboot your OS? There could be a ton of installer script stuff waiting to run on the next powerup cycle. I have seen more people not reboot their computer than have, after a previous installer has asked "because what's the point" (sigh).
What exactly do you mean by that? To reboot it after the Runtime is installed or?
whicker wrote: How much time are you giving it before you declare it stuck?
The installer starts up like any other software. Everything goes smooth and the installation begins. Right at the end it tries to process Windows7_MSU_x64, the first time it stood there for about 10-15 minutes, before I cancelled the installation. The setup is downloaded from Microsoft's website and it's intended for a 64-bit Windows 7.
Greetings! I'm That Bio Mechanical Dude and I like creating various stuff like movies, games and of course chiptunes!
You can check out my YouTube Channel.
You can also follow me on Twitter.

User avatar
rainwarrior
Posts: 7824
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Microsoft Visual C++ runtime nonsense

Post by rainwarrior » Sat Mar 05, 2016 3:29 pm

BioMechanical Dude wrote:What exactly do you mean by that? To reboot it after the Runtime is installed or?
No. Reboot before you run the installer so that you don't have any lingering update/other processes running that might conflict.

You might also try booting in safe mode and uninstalling the existing redist installation before trying again?

User avatar
BioMechanical Dude
Formerly AlienX
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:41 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Microsoft Visual C++ runtime nonsense

Post by BioMechanical Dude » Sun Mar 06, 2016 5:58 am

Well, I did everything you've mentioned. Rebooted the system, turned off my antivirus software and ran the setup as an administrator. It worked! :) I installed both the 64-bit and 32-bit versions of the Runtime and now Bizhawk runs just fine. Thanks!
Greetings! I'm That Bio Mechanical Dude and I like creating various stuff like movies, games and of course chiptunes!
You can check out my YouTube Channel.
You can also follow me on Twitter.

Post Reply