It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 12:33 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1360
Yeah, I encountered the software-sided lock when I tried to run my old "Super Street Fighter II" cartridge on my brother's Supaboy (portable clone console). The game showed a message and refused to play after a while. ("World Warrior" and "Turbo" worked without problems.)

You can even simulate this with an emulator if I remember correctly.

For me personally, this is not a real issue in the moment. The only PAL game I have in mind that I want to play is "Worms". Everything else also exists as an NTSC game.

Yeah, I'll probably buy the Honeybee one. Thanks.

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7203
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Quote:
I think this remained unanswered, but there are actually a lot of adapters out there that don't have a connector for the extra pins used by certain cartridges with special chips.
I can't speak for other games, but both my Super Mario World 2 - Yoshi's Island cartridge as well as my Starwings cartridge (European versio of Star Fox) indeed does have those extra pins, but none of them are connected to anything, so they are effectively useless. Unless I'm mistaken.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am
Posts: 520
I was curious, so I googled. Seems they are extra grounding pins.

http://nintendoage.com/forum/messagevie ... did=136987


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 18993
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
That and I think some of the coprocessors need the 21.47 MHz master clock on one of the extra pins.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 6:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 484
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
tepples wrote:
I think some of the coprocessors need the 21.47 MHz master clock

As I found in this topic that's true, at least for StarFox.
Yoshi's Island should work fine without them, as I use it with a GameGenie that doesn't has the extra pins routed to the connector.
The HoneyBee adapter I linked before has all the extra pins routed. StaFox works fine on it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1360
The Honey Bee adapter arrived today. But it doesn't have the side pins. Yes, the plastic plugs for them are available at the top, but they don't lead anywhere and the converter's own pins are only the regular ones.

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group