My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

You can talk about almost anything that you want to on this board.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
psycopathicteen
Posts: 2949
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm

My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by psycopathicteen » Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:56 pm

Do I need to get a new computer monitor, or is there a way of fixing this?, and yes I've tried going into settings and there are 3 settings and none of them fit.

User avatar
FrankenGraphics
Formerly WheelInventor
Posts: 2032
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by FrankenGraphics » Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:06 pm

That's.... odd. Considering it can actually be a bit of a search for a small standalone monitor with 20" or less (which is sometimes precisely what you want) that supports 1920×1080 px or higher. Often, they top out at 1600x900.
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog

lidnariq
Posts: 9692
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by lidnariq » Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:30 pm

Windows has somehow lost track of what monitor is physically attached... (Whether the monitor's hotplug detection broke or something else, dunno). Also dunno how to fix it; the last time I really knew anything about windows was more than a decade ago.

User avatar
TmEE
Posts: 761
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
Contact:

Re: My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by TmEE » Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:46 am

Uninstall and reinstall the GFX drivers, you can try newer or perhaps older versions to see if there's a difference.

User avatar
Fisher
Posts: 1102
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374

Re: My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by Fisher » Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:52 pm

On Linux you can add a custom modeline on xorg.conf.
I remember I've done something similar on Windows' monitor.inf (not sure about the file).
But it was on Win9x...
I doubt there's a way to add a custom modelines on newer Windozes...
I think TmEE's suggestion should work better.

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11866
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by tokumaru » Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:20 pm

Format the hard disk and start from scratch. That's always the solution to any software problem. :mrgreen:

User avatar
Dwedit
Posts: 4354
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

Re: My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by Dwedit » Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:37 pm

Some drivers allow custom resolutions. Then there are other third party programs that let you do them as well.
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!

User avatar
pubby
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:15 am

Re: My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by pubby » Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:00 pm

Maybe try the monitor on another windows computer to determine if the monitor is defective?

psycopathicteen
Posts: 2949
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm

Re: My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by psycopathicteen » Thu Dec 21, 2017 5:31 am

My computer fixed itself, believe it or not.

93143
Posts: 1227
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:31 pm

Re: My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by 93143 » Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:19 pm

Yesterday it worked.
Today it is not working.
Windows is like that.

Classic haiku from the BSOD days...

ArtemisK
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:42 am

Re: My PC no longer supports 1600x900 resolution

Post by ArtemisK » Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:54 am

hey psycopathicteen
-do you have the nvidia control panel installed? if not, you can download it for your particular video card off the nvidia website.

open that up, and click on "change resolution" on the left panel. should be under "display"

click "customize" on the right panel underneath the list of resolutions.

click the check box that says "enable resolutions not exposed by the display." - then "OK"

try setting your resolution again.

if this doesn't help, i'd recommend contacting nvidia :/

Post Reply