It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:35 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 7:25 am
Posts: 4
With PC10 I mean PlayChoice-10

I'm wondering this because I'd like to set some EU roms to be PlayChoice and at the same time setting the region to PAL, however it does not seem to be working as intended, could be an emulator thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7648
Location: Seattle
No, the PlayChoice-10 implies a 2C03 PPU, which can only operate at 60 Hz.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 6875
Location: Canada
You could emulate some made up version of it as PAL, I suppose? I'm not sure what the goal of this is, though... the PAL NES is easy to emulate, why do you want them to run in a PC10 emulation?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 4:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 7:25 am
Posts: 4
rainwarrior wrote:
You could emulate some made up version of it as PAL, I suppose? I'm not sure what the goal of this is, though... the PAL NES is easy to emulate, why do you want them to run in a PC10 emulation?


Just because the PC10 has a different palette and its only works on NTSC to match the frames.

It's not a must but it'd be alright if emulators would support it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7648
Location: Seattle
Why do you want that rather than just using a custom RGB palette in an emulator?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 7:25 am
Posts: 4
lidnariq wrote:
Why do you want that rather than just using a custom RGB palette in an emulator?


Probably because PC10 is part of Nintendo history.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7648
Location: Seattle
But a hypothetical 50Hz PC10 isn't.

The PC10 arcades that were in Europe still ran at 60Hz, both the game screen and the "instructions" screen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 5:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 7:25 am
Posts: 4
lidnariq wrote:
But a hypothetical 50Hz PC10 isn't.

The PC10 arcades that were in Europe still ran at 60Hz, both the game screen and the "instructions" screen.



I wondered this because I'm doing a NES header-repair project : https://mobasuite.com

Thank you for clearing things up.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group