It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 10:50 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:15 am
Posts: 42
Location: Finland
After reading the thread Detecting button combos / sequences, I tried to disassemble the part of NES Life Force that detects whether the Konami code has been entered (it seems to be at 0x1ed5a0x1ed80 in the PRG-ROM). I couldn't make sense of it, but what I found out was that the game accepts a short variant of the Konami code that I wasn't aware of: up, up, down, down, B, A, start.

Previously, I've only seen the longer code (up, up, down, down, left, right, left, right, B, A, start) on websites (such as here, here and here).

Both codes work with the US version (Life Force) and the European version (Life Force: Salamander) but neither does with the Japanese version (Salamander).

Edit: used the word "previously" twice.

_________________
My NES utilities and programs on GitHub


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 8:57 pm
Posts: 94
FWIW i don't think the 'start' is actually part of the code, at least not the longer, more common version.

but of course you need to press start to begin the game, so it often gets thrown in there.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 7:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:52 am
Posts: 111
Location: Texas, USA
The Cutting Room Floor says

Life Force makes use of a code on the title screen, which increases the number of lives from 3 to 30, but it is not the Konami code, it's only part of it (Up, Up, Down, Down, B, A), but the program will ignore Left or Right pressings, so you could press any amount of them in any order, so the full Konami code for example will be accepted as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 7:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:15 am
Posts: 42
Location: Finland
Oh, OK.

_________________
My NES utilities and programs on GitHub


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 3723
Location: Mountain View, CA
Semi-off-topic but contextually not really: Konami has several "variations" of the "Konami code" throughout later games:

- Gradius 2: Gofer no Yabou (FC): https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/nes/57937 ... -ii/cheats (30-life classic code works, in-game only works once)
- Gradius 3 (SNES/SFC): https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/snes/5883 ... iii/cheats (classic code kills you, variation gives you power-ups)
- Parodius Da! (SFC): https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/snes/5885 ... -da/cheats (too much to describe, just see link)
- Gokujou Parodius (SFC): https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/snes/5629 ... ius/cheats (classic code kills you, other variations do different things)
- Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius (SFC): https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/snes/5629 ... ius/cheats (no classic code, but other variations do different things)
- Sexy Parodius (PSX/Saturn): https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/ps/573495 ... ius/cheats (no classic code, but other variations give you full power-ups, while others hinder you badly)
- Gradius 4 (PS2): https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/ps2/19746 ... -iv/cheats (several variations do different things, but no classic code)
- Gradius 5 (PS2): https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/ps2/58946 ... s-v/cheats (variations)

In other words: Konami is well-aware of the popularity of their classic UUDDLRLRBA code, but it wasn't always "that" complex. They enjoy changing it around on a per-game basis quite intentionally.

And yes, Start is not technically part of the code (it's just needed to start the game if at title screen, or unpause if in-game), though people remember it as being part of it; magazines often toted the Start as part of the code as well. But that's just nitpicking. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2018 3:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 6:29 am
Posts: 830
Location: Denmark (PAL)
toggle switch wrote:
FWIW i don't think the 'start' is actually part of the code, at least not the longer, more common version.

but of course you need to press start to begin the game, so it often gets thrown in there.


And I'm not sure select was ever necessary. You just do it in Contra to get back to the 1 player option as far as I'm aware.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group