It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 3:06 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:08 pm
Posts: 115
Location: NY, USA
So the NTSC (U/J) Gamecube does not output RGB. The PAL Gamecube does output RGB, but it's PAL.

I've heard a number of people say on the Internet that you can use a PAL Gamecube in NTSC land to get RGB output for the Gameboy Player, but I'm confused about how to accomplish this. I can't seem to find the answer I'm looking for in Google searches.

Best I can tell, the PAL Gamecube will output PAL50, but it can apparently output PAL60 as well. Are those the only video output options (resolutions aside) that the PAL GCN can do? Can it be forced to output NTSC somehow? When I Googled, I didn't find any NTSC mods for it. It looks like you can force 60Hz output via software, but I didn't see anything about forcing NTSC or modifying it for NTSC. So for the people that import a PAL GCN to get RGB output for the Gameboy Player, are they just using it on a display that can handle PAL?

I realize the Gamecube scene isn't very big here, but I thought I would try my luck anyway :D (I'm not registered on very many forums).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 11:46 am
Posts: 107
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
RGB is neither NTSC nor PAL. As long as you run 60hz software then all should be fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:08 pm
Posts: 115
Location: NY, USA
Nioreh wrote:
RGB is neither NTSC nor PAL. As long as you run 60hz software then all should be fine.


But I once modified a PAL SNES to output 60Hz and the colors were all messed up on my NTSC TV. I found out that it was outputting PAL60, and I had to modify the video encoder to output NTSC60. Won't I run into the same problem with the Gamecube?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20854
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
It was probably outputting both PAL60 and RGB60. You just had to take the RGB pins instead of the composite pin.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:08 pm
Posts: 115
Location: NY, USA
Ah! Sorry, I'm not a morning person. My brain wasn't working yet. I understand now.

Thanks for the help!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group