It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2019 5:18 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Inferiority complex?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:01 am 

Hi all, I have just read through this post, and it made me question my behavior in the process. When I was relatively new to the forums I had an immense inferiority complex that has somewhat disappeared, although I still see myself as someone who doesn't quite belong due to my non-existent programming background. I am generally more geared towards the "arts", which is best indicated by the fact that I hold an "English-Dutch" degree, and not one that has anything to do with computer science (although I did have some very enjoyable typography lectures as a part of the curriculum, where we did some HTML and LaTeX). I always loved to use any "level editor" or similar tools games offered to let me create my own take on something or to "add part of myself" to the content, eventually leading me to ROM hacking, and then sitting down and learning 6502 assembly.

It's a weird feeling that noone else my age comes to programming from the direction that I have, and even though I've been doing it for 5 years, I still find it difficult to move past the likes of C, where I don't exactly know what is happening under the hood. It makes me a bit uncomfortable to do that "leap of faith" and let some other program written by someone else define how my code will achieve its goal. Yet, everyone else here seems to be a lifelong programmer, where it might also be their job, and have the sort of "omniscient" expertise that I can't even hope to have.