Is the last version of BSNES 64-bit only ?

You can talk about almost anything that you want to on this board.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Bregalad
Posts: 7879
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland

Is the last version of BSNES 64-bit only ?

Post by Bregalad » Mon Mar 30, 2020 8:29 am

The newer versions of BSNES (after it went to Higan and back to SNES again) refuses to launch on my computer, Windows 7 32-bit.

After using the file command in cygwin, I figure out this executable is a little bit different than the others that can launch just fine.

Code: Select all

$ file /cygdrive/c/Emul/SNES/bsnes_v108-windows/bsnes.exe
/cygdrive/c/Emul/SNES/bsnes_v108-windows/bsnes.exe: PE32+ executable (GUI) x86-64 (stripped to external PDB), for MS Windows
[/quote]
The old version from 2009 that works fine :
[code]
$ file /cygdrive/c/Emul/SNES/BSNESd/bsnesd.exe
/cygdrive/c/Emul/SNES/BSNESd/bsnesd.exe: PE32 executable (GUI) Intel 80386 (stripped to external PDB), for MS Windows, UPX compressed
Error message on cygwin:
$ /cygdrive/c/Emul/SNES/bsnes_v108-windows/bsnes.exe
-bash: /cygdrive/c/Emul/SNES/bsnes_v108-windows/bsnes.exe : impossible d'exécuter le fichier binaire : Exec format error
How do I run BSNES on my computer ?

EDIT : Also, it seems more and more software breaks even on 32-bit Windows, possibly just by doing the official MS updates ! Audio Overload, and DefeleMask, which used to work several years ago on the same installation, doesn't launch anymore.
Attachments
bsnes.png

User avatar
Quietust
Posts: 1556
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Is the last version of BSNES 64-bit only ?

Post by Quietust » Mon Mar 30, 2020 9:08 am

Bregalad wrote:
Mon Mar 30, 2020 8:29 am
$ file /cygdrive/c/Emul/SNES/bsnes_v108-windows/bsnes.exe
/cygdrive/c/Emul/SNES/bsnes_v108-windows/bsnes.exe: PE32+ executable (GUI) x86-64 (stripped to external PDB), for MS Windows
"x86-64" means that it's a 64-bit binary, so there's no way you'll be able to run it on a 32-bit operating system. If you were running the 64-bit version of Windows 7, it might've worked just fine.
Quietust, QMT Productions
P.S. If you don't get this note, let me know and I'll write you another.

User avatar
Bregalad
Posts: 7879
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland

Re: Is the last version of BSNES 64-bit only ?

Post by Bregalad » Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:04 am

Yes but dozens of 16-bit programs I use would not "work just fine" anymore.

Also this means the answer to my title question is "yes", and it's the first time ever in my life I encounter a software that requires a 64-bit OS to work.

tepples
Posts: 21973
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Is the last version of BSNES 64-bit only ?

Post by tepples » Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:11 am

To run 16-bit and 64-bit applications, you can either use a 64-bit operating system and run a 16- or 32-bit operating system in a virtual machine within the 64-bit operating system or dual boot between a 64-bit operating system and a 16- or 32-bit operating system. In order to evaluate which operating system would be best for your use case:

What CPU model does your computer have? How much RAM and HDD space does it have, and how much HDD space is free? Are these 16-bit applications made for MS-DOS or for Windows 3.1?

User avatar
Bregalad
Posts: 7879
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland

Re: Is the last version of BSNES 64-bit only ?

Post by Bregalad » Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:38 am

Well, I have an AMD Athlon II X3 455 CPU, 4GB of RAM, and more than 240 GB free on my hard disk (buying more is also simple if needed).

The major 16-bit application I have is Cakewalk professional originally for Windows 3.1, but I also use other romkacking-related DOS tools that can also work with DOSBox, although significantly more annying to use than natiely - with the impossibility to use it in a script, to scroll in the console and to do copy/paste to/from the console.

calima
Posts: 1125
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am

Re: Is the last version of BSNES 64-bit only ?

Post by calima » Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:30 am

I suppose that's just the official binary, and you could compile a 32-bit bsnes yourself still.

Post Reply