It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:22 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NES recording
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:37 pm 
Hi!
I'm new to the forum but I've followed the NES scene for some years. I offered myself a MIDINes for Christmas, and its really awesome. As I want to record my songs, I plugged it in my mic channel, but the line is super noisy, and I had to apply noise filter plugins. 1. Is the NES RCA audio line normally noisy or is it just mine? 2. Is the stereo hack of the NES going to get rid of the noise? 3. Other suggestions?

p.s. I'm not talking about the noise channel...it's electrical noise, like a hum but not 60Hz, like in the high range 8KHZ to 15KHZ.

Thanks.
Eggplant Man


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20567
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I've heard video-related noise with my Super NES as well. Put in Mario Paint and turn off the game's music. Now make a stamp with alternating horizontal lines of black and white pixels, and fill the screen with it. Boom, a 7.9 kHz wave. Now make a stamp with the top half black and the bottom half white, and fill the screen with that. Boom, a 983 Hz square wave. What you're hearing is crosstalk: video signal leaking into the audio signal. A lot of it will happen at 15.7 kHz divided by a power of 2, as 15.7 kHz is the horizontal scan frequency of an NTSC NES.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: noisy audio recording
PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 8:46 pm 
I thought of magnetic electrical interferencee coming from the TV and or other electrical devices. So I turned off everything except my computer and my nes. I even put back the RF metal shielding of the Nes that I had thrown away years before. Still noisy. Anyway, here's a sample of the noise I'm talking about:
http://hybrid.concordia.ca/~hugod/rechordes/buzz.wav

and if you 're curious,
here's a sample of the unfinished song I'm working on:
http://hybrid.concordia.ca/~hugod/recho ... -Strip.mp3


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:06 pm
Posts: 16
you might want to try doing this stereo mod just so you can tap the sound chip directly without going through the rf modulator. I havent done it on mine yet, but a similar porcedure worked very well on my atari.

http://www.zyx.com/chrisc/nesstereo.html

_________________
Peter Swimm
toilville.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:58 am 
with midines, make sure mode 2 is on play a few pulse channel notes, till the color for that channel (shown on the bg) goes to blank, select midi ch 2 do the same thing, and midi ch 3 do the same thing, you should have a relatively black screen right now

hit select to freeze this ppu config,

thats as quiet as it's going to get


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:57 pm
Posts: 1253
My nes buzzes at me too, I use the AV jacks though, not the RF.

SMB3's curtain screen (in the beginning) makes it buzz really oddly.

If I have the video jack disconnected from the TV, it doesn't buzz.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20567
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Tried using shielded cables?

And does unplugging the video cable (Drag's suggestion) work?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group