Any DPCM replacement samples for SMB3 copyrighted ones?

Discuss NSF files, FamiTracker, MML tools, or anything else related to NES music.

Moderator: Moderators

8bitMicroGuy

Any DPCM replacement samples for SMB3 copyrighted ones?

Post by 8bitMicroGuy »

I've been arranging music in FamiTracker since 2009, but there's one little problem. I've been using the DPCM samples of SMB3 which are under copyright of Nintendo and which I'm not allowed to use because of the copyright as Fair Use won't save me. Has anyone had this problem? What have you used as a replacement? Since I've got used to the sound of my compositions with the samples, it will be hard to get used to some new samples so I'd need to have them sound with as little difference as possible while being enough different to not be infringing of Nintendo's copyright.
FrankenGraphics
Formerly WheelInventor

Re: Any DPCM replacement samples for SMB3 copyrighted ones?

Post by FrankenGraphics »

Of the synths i have, there might be something similar to the percussive sounds on maybe yamaha sy 77 or alesis d4. I can check sometime but can't leave guarantee on when.

It wouldn't surprise me if the samples nintendo used originally came from some yamaha or roland synth or some sampler deck diskette. It makes it hypothetically possible to get something equal in appearance but still recorded and conditioned by yourself or someone to provide a new copy. Else, a sample of the same instrument type ought to do.
8bitMicroGuy

Post by 8bitMicroGuy »

Please do and then send the samples to me so that I can use them. And thank you in advance :)
rainwarrior

Post by rainwarrior »

There are large repositories of freely licensed sound samples out there, for example:
https://freesound.org/
https://www.audioblocks.com/royalty-free-audio/timpani

Try and look up similar samples by name of instrument, and keep in mind that you can edit them too, reshape the envelopes, etc.
Sogona

Post by Sogona »