It is currently Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:39 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 3:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:41 am
Posts: 43
Location: Brazil
First of all, I'm a totally noob about music composing.
I'm using Famitracker to make sound effects and Famitone2 to play those, since famitone doesn't accept the Ixy - Hardware sweep down effect I ask: there's any other way to replace this effect so famitone can play it?
Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 3:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 7500
Location: Canada
You can use a pitch macro in your instrument to do a pitch sweep, though it's not quite equivalent to the hardware sweep. Pitch macros will adjust the pitch linearly, so if you use it on a high note it has more effect than if you use it on a low note.

For a single given pitch, though, you could match the effect of a hardware sweep with a pitch macro. Keep in mind that the rate of the change in pitch needs to increase as it goes lower (or decrease as it goes higher) to maintain a similar logarithmic shape.

Or if you just want a thing to sweep up or down quickly in pitch, a simple repeating pitch macro like "| 10" might be do the trick.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 3:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 2523
Location: DIGDUG
famitone has a pitch change limit of + - 64. Which is only a few notes away from the base note...

* and looping it doesn't work.

However, my forks can do 1xx or 2xx which can go the full range.

* edit.

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 3:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 7500
Location: Canada
dougeff wrote:
However, my forks can do 1xx or 2xx which can go the full range.

Does it do other effects? This doesn't seem to be documented at the moment:
https://github.com/nesdoug/famitone4.1/blob/master/readme.txt

(The source suggests it can do 1xx, 2xx, and 4xx?)


Last edited by rainwarrior on Fri May 24, 2019 4:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 4:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 2523
Location: DIGDUG
Those. And 5.0 added Qxx and Rxx and 3xx... And duty cycle envelopes... and sfx > 256 bytes.

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 4:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 7500
Location: Canada
Ah, I see. I missed the note that "readme.txt" is not the actual readme and I should have looked at "Usage.txt"...

On another note, I didn't realize there was a Famitone 5 at this point either.

The last thread I found here when I was searching for it was about Famitone 4. Om your github profile 4.1 is still pinned. On your website I can't find any mention of Famitone 5 at all. The wiki links to a thread about Famitone 3.3.

So, just point out that it seems a bit hard to discover what the latest version of Famitone is. Like I had tried searching for it today and that's where I'd ended up.


Maybe I would suggest creating a single repository, and use tags/branches to provide the older versions, instead of having a separate repository for each? Updating the readme that github displays when you go to the project would help a lot too.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 6:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:41 am
Posts: 43
Location: Brazil
rainwarrior wrote:
So, just point out that it seems a bit hard to discover what the latest version of Famitone is. ...


Maybe I would suggest creating a single repository, and use tags/branches to provide the older versions, instead of having a separate repository for each? Updating the readme that github displays when you go to the project would help a lot too.

I had the same experience of @rainwarrior and totally agree with him. Since it's a fork of famitone2 you could just create a repo for it named famitone2 and create tags versioning as famitone2.x.y , this way you would had the tags/releases: famitone2.3.3, famitone2.4.1 and famitone2.5.0 . But this is just my opinion :wink:

dougeff wrote:
famitone has a pitch change limit of + - 64. Which is only a few notes away from the base note...

* and looping it doesn't work.

However, my forks can do 1xx or 2xx which can go the full range.

* edit.

Can those effects help me to replace the Ixy?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 6:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:41 am
Posts: 43
Location: Brazil
rainwarrior wrote:
You can use a pitch macro in your instrument to do a pitch sweep, though it's not quite equivalent to the hardware sweep. Pitch macros will adjust the pitch linearly, so if you use it on a high note it has more effect than if you use it on a low note.

For a single given pitch, though, you could match the effect of a hardware sweep with a pitch macro. Keep in mind that the rate of the change in pitch needs to increase as it goes lower (or decrease as it goes higher) to maintain a similar logarithmic shape.

Or if you just want a thing to sweep up or down quickly in pitch, a simple repeating pitch macro like "| 10" might be do the trick.

Thanks for the quick reply. I spent some time trying to change the Hi-pitch effect into the instrument, but I have no acknowledge what I'm doing and it's not working as exptected...
I'm attaching the effect so you can figure out what I'm trying to do...any tips will be apreciated.


Attachments:
laser.ftm [844 Bytes]
Downloaded 26 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 10:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 7500
Location: Canada
Hi-pitch envelopes aren't supported by Famitone, only regular pitch, AFAIK.

However, in that file you just linked the hi-pitch envelope is not even enabled. Also the envelope you've created goes out of range too quickly to make a sound anyway.


As far as using the spupported effects to replace it: just replace Ixx with a 2xx, or Hxx with a 1xx. The velocity of the slide is different (linear vs log), but you can play with the value to see if you can find a linear sweep that sounds well enough.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 11:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:41 am
Posts: 43
Location: Brazil
rainwarrior wrote:
As far as using the spupported effects to replace it: just replace Ixx with a 2xx, or Hxx with a 1xx. The velocity of the slide is different (linear vs log), but you can play with the value to see if you can find a linear sweep that sounds well enough.

Thank you! The resulting effect is very near the original with Ixx.
You and dougeff are my hero :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 1:56 pm 
Offline
Formerly WheelInventor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 2024
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Even with famitones’ pitch bend limit, you don’t need effects. do a pitch bend down/up to another tone, start a new tone with another. The trick is timing so that you reach the new tone just in time for the new note. calculate necessary pitch change vs frames per step.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group