It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:51 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:34 pm
Posts: 4
Hello
I got a Request ripping to NSF File Rockman 4 Minus Infinity
This is a hack of Mega Man 4


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:48 pm
Posts: 543
Most of this music has been ripped from other games. Interesting how he was able to port so much other music into a specific replayer from Game Boy and NES.

Since it's been ripped from other games I don't see the point in ripping an NSF of it.

A few interesting things to note... I'm wondering why this doesn't work in Nintendulator at all but supposedly works on hardware. Also when you pause the game the buster selection moves on its own time to time. Related to DPCM glitch? I thought the glitch wasn't emulated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 9:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19222
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
B00daW wrote:
Most of this music has been ripped from other games.

Piston Honda's entrance theme "Sakura" in Punch-Out!! (NES) was reused in DDR Extreme (PS2). Don Flamenco's (from Bizet's "Carmen") was reused in Tetris (NES). Soda Popinski's ("Ey ukhnem") was reused in Pipe Dream (NES). The dance cut scene music "Trepak" from Tetris (GB) was reused in Home Alone (Super NES).

Quote:
Interesting how he was able to port so much other music into a specific replayer from Game Boy and NES.

That just makes them cover versions, just as one might port music to the NT2 or MCK or FamiTracker replayer.

Quote:
Since it's been ripped from other games I don't see the point in ripping an NSF of it.

Is there also no point in having cover NSFs in Famicompo and the like? Is there no point in ripping the NSF of Super Mario Bros. 2 (J), the SPC of Super Mario All-Stars, or the GBS of Super Mario Bros. Deluxe because the NSF of Super Mario Bros. exists?

Quote:
Also when you pause the game the buster selection moves on its own time to time. Related to DPCM glitch? I thought the glitch wasn't emulated.

If it's Right presses, or if holding Down produces occasional Up presses, it's likely the DPCM glitch. I'm under the impression that the glitch was emulated as soon as it was understood.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 9:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 2981
Location: Tampere, Finland
tepples wrote:
Quote:
Also when you pause the game the buster selection moves on its own time to time. Related to DPCM glitch? I thought the glitch wasn't emulated.

If it's Right presses, or if holding Down produces occasional Up presses, it's likely the DPCM glitch. I'm under the impression that the glitch was emulated as soon as it was understood.

At least Nestopia emulates this glitch.

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: kkfos.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:48 pm
Posts: 543
Well, that's it then. I used Nestopia. So his game has the DPCM glitch.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10112
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
thefox wrote:
At least Nestopia emulates this glitch.

It does? That's a surprise, considering Nestopia hasn't been updated in a while...

B00daW wrote:
So his game has the DPCM glitch.

Technically, the NES has the DPCM glitch, the game has a bug caused by not dealing properly with the glitch. =)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:48 pm
Posts: 543
Você sabe exatamente quê eu disse, moleque.

Translation:

Well played, sir.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10112
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Wow, nearly perfect portuguese! Yeah, I know what you meant. =)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:27 am
Posts: 178
Location: Slovakia
Guys, the author made a DPCM/controller fix for the MMC5 version of the game if you are interested, this is from his page:
I fixed the glitch tentatively, but I don't know that this fixing is correct or not. The ips is here!

I reuploaded his patch here: http://www.mediafire.com/?dm9m3kubqxokpnt

Now it's working correctly in Nestopia and on real hardware.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 7:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 74
NSF (and NSFE) ripped. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/20737085/rm4mi_nsf.zip


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group