It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:48 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:44 pm
Posts: 6
Hello!!

I’ve been trying to get my SNES to work all day. I haven’t used it in some years, but I’ve been it’s only owner. It’s the original SNES the fatty version.

Basically, when everything is connected it loads the game but only to the start menu, if you hit start it cycles to No Signal and then back to the start screen. If just left alone, it basically loops the start menu over and over again.

So far all I have been able to rule out are the cables as it does the same thing with both sets of AV cables I have, one HDMI adapter and the N64 Multi-out to composite. I don’t have another game here to test it with. I also don’t have a game bit so I have not been able to take either apart to further inspect them.

I’m wondering if anyone can help narrow me down to Cart or Console so I can target my troubleshooting a little bit better.

I really appreciate it. I’ve been all over the internet today trying to find troubleshooting and haven’t found anyone with the same issue documented... that’s how I found this place and some wonderful information but nothing quite fits.

Thanks and have a great day!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8684
Location: Seattle
Ms. Ziggie wrote:
Basically, when everything is connected it loads the game but only to the start menu, if you hit start it cycles to No Signal and then back to the start screen.
"no signal" implies something is causing the SNES to reset.

What specific cartridge are you playing with?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:44 pm
Posts: 6
lidnariq wrote:
Ms. Ziggie wrote:
Basically, when everything is connected it loads the game but only to the start menu, if you hit start it cycles to No Signal and then back to the start screen.
"no signal" implies something is causing the SNES to reset.

What specific cartridge are you playing with?


Super Mario All Stars + Super Mario World


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8684
Location: Seattle
And all five games (SMB1, SMB2j, SMB2, SMB3, SMW) all crash in the same way?

Are you in PAL-land or USA-land?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:44 pm
Posts: 6
lidnariq wrote:
And all five games (SMB1, SMB2j, SMB2, SMB3, SMW) all crash in the same way?

Are you in PAL-land or USA-land?


USA Land with the USA console.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8684
Location: Seattle
... My best hunch is that the problem is your SNES, and the SNES needs its capacitors replaced. But ... that's only a hunch.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:44 pm
Posts: 6
So...

Sacrificed a flathead screwdriver into a makeshift tool and got the SNES open. The 62 pin connector’s screw tabs are black plastic instead of metal. It’s different than every tear down guide and video I’ve seen, which wasn’t too concerning until I couldn’t get it to release from the board. Did some cleaning, as much as I could without removing that piece, but no change in performance.

I also got several other test games, and they’re all doing the same thing. Power -> Reset. Some manage to get to the title screen, others just a black screen -> no signal.

I mean, the inside and the board looks super clean like I just can’t see any other issues.

Any idea how to get the pin connector out with the black plastic tabs??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2019 8:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8684
Location: Seattle
I don't think you need to remove the connector - if the connector were what were bad, you SNES would do one of:
1- Never generate a valid signal (CIC failure)
2- Always generate a valid signal (CPU crash)

But because you get both behaviors, and especially because it recovers on its own, without you doing anything more than pressing buttons on the joystick, it has to be something else. That's why my hunch is that you need to replace the capacitors inside - that's one of the very few things that would cause the symptoms you've reported.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2019 12:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Posts: 588
Location: Poland
->Check if the power supply is OK.
*Powering my SNES using 12V 1.3A DC makes it behave weird - sometimes after a few minutes the console just resets or power downs and then cannot be turned on for next few seconds. Either some thermal protection inside power supply or the rectifier bridge in SNES cannot withstand constant DC current (when passing AC - all four diodes work and the heat is equally spreaded over them, while in DC mode - only two conduct current)

->Check the console using one of the test ROMs: https://tcrf.net/SNES_Test_Program (Needs LOROM PCB)

->Try to clean the cartridge connector from oxidation or dust by insterting and removing the cartridge around 30 times (without powering console)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:44 pm
Posts: 6
lidnariq wrote:
I don't think you need to remove the connector - if the connector were what were bad, you SNES would do one of:
1- Never generate a valid signal (CIC failure)
2- Always generate a valid signal (CPU crash)

But because you get both behaviors, and especially because it recovers on its own, without you doing anything more than pressing buttons on the joystick, it has to be something else. That's why my hunch is that you need to replace the capacitors inside - that's one of the very few things that would cause the symptoms you've reported.


Update.

Replaced the caps tonight. Same exact thing happening.
Power up, intro cuts out, boot cycles, repeat.


krzysiobal wrote:
->Check if the power supply is OK.
*Powering my SNES using 12V 1.3A DC makes it behave weird - sometimes after a few minutes the console just resets or power downs and then cannot be turned on for next few seconds. Either some thermal protection inside power supply or the rectifier bridge in SNES cannot withstand constant DC current (when passing AC - all four diodes work and the heat is equally spreaded over them, while in DC mode - only two conduct current)

->Check the console using one of the test ROMs: https://tcrf.net/SNES_Test_Program (Needs LOROM PCB)

->Try to clean the cartridge connector from oxidation or dust by insterting and removing the cartridge around 30 times (without powering console)


Tested power supply, tested bad. Replaced power supply, no change.

So at this point:

Verified it’s not the cartridge
Cleaned the cartridge connector in console
Replaced the power supply
Replaced caps

Is there anything else worth trying?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8684
Location: Seattle
.... maybe replace the 7805? the fuse? the power switch assembly?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:04 pm 
Online

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:09 pm
Posts: 1053
Measure the 5V with oscilloscope or multimeter.
And check for broken solder pads.

Maybe also try to measure the Reset pin, to see if it does really reset (or just happens to jump to the entrypoint without reset).

Apart from power-failures, I think the only reset source would be the CIC? So you could disable the CIC.

Or is the console already modded with CIC disable, or even with PAL/NTSC mode switch? Some games refuse such mods.

With the title screen working, it must later on use some other hardware component that doesn't work... whatever, a different video mode or audio... or just a higher memory address on the cartridge address bus. In so far, a dirty connector pin could cause such problems (well, except, I guess it might rather crash/hang instead of successfully rebooting in such cases).

_________________
homepage - patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2019 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:17 am
Posts: 504
Location: East Texas
Super Mario All Stars has sram detection and it could be that the SRAM in the cart is bad..... Hence, the black screen. SMWAS won't even boot if it doesn't see sram on the cart...

Maybe it's that??

Edit: maybe not after reading more of the posts.... :/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2019 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 1:44 pm
Posts: 6
Replaced motherboard.

Problem solved

Thanks guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group