It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:54 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 9:06 am
Posts: 57
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
I was working on a mod that required me to remove the RF/RCA/power box and I'm not sure why it's being a butt. Basically I needed to extend the outside board away from the main connections so I was gonna run wires from the original 5 pins on the outside board to the NES board connector holes, seemed simple enough.. seemed. lol.

So the solder points came up where you remove the 5 pins (pictured) and it is having no power/no video coming out of it when I put wires in, I checked my connections 3 times resoldered them, all nothing. I'm not sure if anything is mucked up or if perhaps I can go another approach here.

I was curious if
A. Anyone had any suggestions as to why my board is acting like a jerk.
B. What are the direct spots I could solder the 5 points to on the actual NES board so I can just work around it and not even bother with those 5 holes?

The box seems to work, I can get some power out of the last two pins, in fact I'm pretty sure of it because I put the outside board back on without solder and just leaned it back and I got power and video at one point, and I don't anymore but yeah, there has to be a way around this if the contact holes are mucked up. I put my phones light up to it and it looks like the board chip side up, first pin going to C5, second going to C4, no idea where the 3rd one goes, fouth may hit C12, fifth C11. I have no idea if I'm right or not but that's the situation by the looks of it. If anyone knows for sure that would be great. Bypassing the holes is probably for the best as the solder points are gone anyways and its just a pain in the butt to mount wire back in there.

Thanks everybody. :)

Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6534
Location: Seattle
You delaminated and tore away the copper around where it used to be soldered. Your best workaround will be to follow the traces and solder to the next component.

Alternatively, I've had luck scratching away the resist and surface-mount soldering on a new wire, but I wouldn't bother for the signals here; three of them are too high power. (Audio and video might be ok, though.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 9:06 am
Posts: 57
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
lidnariq wrote:
You delaminated and tore away the copper around where it used to be soldered. Your best workaround will be to follow the traces and solder to the next component.

Alternatively, I've had luck scratching away the resist and surface-mount soldering on a new wire, but I wouldn't bother for the signals here; three of them are too high power. (Audio and video might be ok, though.)


Yeah, I figured that was a problem. More or less my issue is that I'm not 100% certain which traces I need to solder to. I have an.. idea.. but I'm not 100% confident. Anyone who knows which points those are, that would be great. :)

Thanks. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6534
Location: Seattle
Here's a reverse-engineered schematic of the frontloader NES: http://console5.com/wiki/Nintendo_NES-001

The module that you removed is the entire first page ("Power, AV, RF switch").

Anyway, looking at my NES, it does look to me like C5, C4 , R2 or C15, C12, C11, respectively.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 9:06 am
Posts: 57
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
lidnariq wrote:
Anyway, looking at my NES, it does look to me like C5, C4 , R2 or C15, C12, C11, respectively.


lol yeah, R2 or C15, would either work or is that a guess?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6534
Location: Seattle
You can look at your own board and see they're connected :p


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 9:06 am
Posts: 57
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
lidnariq wrote:
You can look at your own board and see they're connected :p

Yeah I see the connections but I was unsure if it mattered which one I connected the 3rd connection to or if it would just be fine either way.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6534
Location: Seattle
Both are fine; the NES is slow enough that soldering location approximately doesn't matter.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 9:06 am
Posts: 57
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
lidnariq wrote:
Both are fine; the NES is slow enough that soldering location approximately doesn't matter.

Thank you :) I'll have to get this done in the morning, I'll letcha know if all went well


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 9:06 am
Posts: 57
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Got it working. Super cool! :D

Thanks again. :))


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group