It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:01 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 562 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 ... 38  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:08 am 
Offline
Formerly akaviolence
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:21 am
Posts: 152
Location: Central Indiana
flamepanther wrote:
flamepanther wrote:
So, I'm still a few days within the warranty for my Hi-Def NES upgraded Analogue Nt. It's a second run unit with composite video support--for which I only recently got the required video cable. I just found out the RCA audio jacks don't work. Analogue Support is trying to tell me Kevtris' HDMI upgrade isn't compatible with analog sound. I'm pretty sure that's BS, right?


They've outright deleted my support ticket now. I guess I won't be getting any support (or any other future products) from them.

I've opened my NES plenty of times, but never the Nt. Does anyone know if their HDMI kit differs from the others in any way? Or can it be transplanted?


The hi-def kit only does digital audio/video, the analog stuff is straight from the cpu/ppu AFAIK.
The nt hi-def kit is powered from the console so r35 jumper resistor is missing, no biggie, and there another resistor that sets it to an nt version with it's specific menu title. That's the only diffs I know of.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 10
game-tech.us wrote:
flamepanther wrote:
flamepanther wrote:
So, I'm still a few days within the warranty for my Hi-Def NES upgraded Analogue Nt. It's a second run unit with composite video support--for which I only recently got the required video cable. I just found out the RCA audio jacks don't work. Analogue Support is trying to tell me Kevtris' HDMI upgrade isn't compatible with analog sound. I'm pretty sure that's BS, right?


They've outright deleted my support ticket now. I guess I won't be getting any support (or any other future products) from them.

I've opened my NES plenty of times, but never the Nt. Does anyone know if their HDMI kit differs from the others in any way? Or can it be transplanted?


The hi-def kit only does digital audio/video, the analog stuff is straight from the cpu/ppu AFAIK.
The nt hi-def kit is powered from the console so r35 jumper resistor is missing, no biggie, and there another resistor that sets it to an nt version with it's specific menu title. That's the only diffs I know of.


Thanks!

So if my analog audio doesn't work, that means it's defective or they purposely disabled it for who knows what reason...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:32 am 
Offline
Formerly akaviolence
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:21 am
Posts: 152
Location: Central Indiana
[quote="flamepanther"
So if my analog audio doesn't work, that means it's defective or they purposely disabled it for who knows what reason...[/quote]

Sorry, I'm not familiar enough with the nt to give you an answer honestly...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 10
game-tech.us wrote:
flamepanther wrote:
So if my analog audio doesn't work, that means it's defective or they purposely disabled it for who knows what reason...


Sorry, I'm not familiar enough with the nt to give you an answer honestly...

That's completely understandable. But it doesn't disable the RCA audio on a stock NES or Famicom, correct?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:18 pm 
Offline
Formerly akaviolence
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:21 am
Posts: 152
Location: Central Indiana
flamepanther wrote:
game-tech.us wrote:
flamepanther wrote:
So if my analog audio doesn't work, that means it's defective or they purposely disabled it for who knows what reason...


Sorry, I'm not familiar enough with the nt to give you an answer honestly...

That's completely understandable. But it doesn't disable the RCA audio on a stock NES or Famicom, correct?


Correct.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:59 am
Posts: 5
Mikklos wrote:
Can you provide me with a serial number for that pal nes? Doesn't need to be precise, just roughly in the millions. I have a pal with the "bad" ppu but I'm trying to narrow down the search for a good one. :-)


The serial number in my NES-ESP-2 is PE5744876.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:23 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,

the past few months I've been trying to source a pal ppu to work with the Hi-Def Nes kits i have.

these type of pal consoles do not have the 'A' revision PPU RP2C07A

PAL DUTCH - NESE-001 (HOL) sn: PE28**924 / PE34**284 / PE21**957 / PE15**605 / PE28**924
PAL ITALIAN 'MATTEL' - NESE-001 (ITA) sn: PM02**41
PAL FRENCH 'SECAM' - NESE-001 (FRA) sn: PE35**641

I also went to a retro game console shop here in Belgium where I could open up the consoles they had, 11 in total
all were PAL DUTCH - NESE-001 (HOL) and none of them had the 'A' revision PPU RP2C07A

hope this helps if you want to buy a console with the needed revision ppu, do not choose one of the above ...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 10:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:49 pm
Posts: 5
So PAL people are pretty much screwed...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:38 pm
Posts: 2
I've tried installing the Hi-Def in a PAL NES, but I'm getting a bad image which is flickering between a good image and the one below, tested fine running on composite after I socketed it. I'm assuming it's the PPU issue mentioned above, but thought I'd check to see if it's consistent with what other people are experiencing. Will try adding a cap to pin 18 tomorrow to see if and how well it fixes it. I did try swapping the crystal and installing an NTSC CPU and PPU, but kept getting a grey screen for some reason.

CPU: RP2A07
PPU: RP2C07-0

They are from a UK PAL console, serial number PM572816. I do have another PAL set from a French NES (PE4731293), but the PPU is the same revision.


Attachments:
20170303_134249.jpg
20170303_134249.jpg [ 2.71 MiB | Viewed 1477 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 11:58 am
Posts: 7
Do we know if Kevtris has had the time to look at our PAL problem?

Any sort of estimate of how long it might take to be addressed?

I was just wondering from a previous comment - once the HDMI board has worked out what chipset/video format you have, if you try to change it wihtout performing some sort of factory reset - is this why you can suffer the grey square on your HDMI output?

I suspect that when I get around to fitting NTSC CPU PPU and crystals I'll just end up getting the Square so I'll be no better off.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 5:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:49 pm
Posts: 5
Bump


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2017 12:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:43 pm
Posts: 36
Been testing the kit a bit more and it seems like my Hi-Def NES (PAL-B, rev-0 cpu/ppu) doesn't like Blaster Master, Batman: The Video Game and Little Samson. The games are flickering the same way most of my Everdrive-games do. And it's even worse with Super Mario Bros. 2 and Chip 'n Dale Rescue Rangers. Been testing the games in another NES, and they all work fine. They do seem to work fine in composite-mode on my Hi-Def NES as well, but for some reason the composite mode are much worse after the kit installation, so it's not really a alternative playing any of the games that way. Do anyone else have any issues with the composite mode after installation?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 2:09 am
Posts: 499
Location: Indianapolis
Sorry I been scarce awhile. I was working 12 hours a day getting that nt mini out the door last year and the start of this year. Those that don't know, this is a multiplatform FPGA videogame system I designed. It nominally plays NES but can play all my other cores too (well mostly).

Anyways, I have been working on the hi def, fixing bugs tonight. So far, I have squashed the following bugs:

* DC level on the audio causing audio to be silent until i.e. some sound effect plays on certain models of monitor (I'm looking at you, ASUS). The fix removes the DC offset, which should fix this.

* FDS audio channel not being right. This was fixed now too, so it should sound correct in i.e. Bio Miracle. I am not 100% sure it's perfect since I can't play the second track of the NSF. It crashes the NSF player on the powerpak. Though the first sounds fine which is also tricky to get working.

* DPCM fix. The dog now barks 3 times in duck hunt, and paperboy has the proper DPCM sound effects now. The issue with both was that they don't write 0 to 4015 bit 4 to retrigger the channel, they just write 1F to 4015 to trigger it. So that was a fairly easy fix.

* Palette screwiness. On some chips (laser marked H rev PPUs, PAL PPUs, and the twin famicom (though it has not been tested on this yet but this SHOULD fix it)) the palette wouldn't work properly, and the screen would look screwed- tiles would be right but colours would be waaay off. This appears to be fixed now, it was caused by my address bus filtering being wonky, so I fixed that up and it seems to have fixed those issues.

I still have 1 bug left, on some PAL PPUs, there are speckles on the screen. I am not sure what is causing this, except it looks like the video coming out of the chip is a bit faster than other chips, so I think adding a bit of delay should fix it. I will use J4 on the board to enable this delay if this is what fixes it.

To make these fixes fit, I had to remove the interpolation setting, which I highly doubt anyone used. The FPGA is reporting in at 100% full now, so these fixes better be it, because there's no more gates left! I will remove the menu entry for it, too.

I might be able to stuff a few more palettes in, like 2-3 more. which ones should I include? This is probably the last thing I can add because the ROM inside is full up too. This design is using literally every resource available on the FPGA now.

_________________
/* this is a comment */


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:23 pm
Posts: 3
Hi Kevin

Great to hear you have an idea on the PAL glitch bug ...

When the new firmware is available i'll be happy to test it , i have 4 different (Dutch, German, French, Spanish) pal consoles ready with the hi-def nes kit installed.

:lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:23 am
Posts: 2
Location: New Jersey
Hi Kevin,

Let me first say I love my HiDefNES kit. Every time I load it up I'm blown away. If I can make a suggestion on Palettes maybe one of FirebrandX's palettes would make sense to add to it.

http://www.firebrandx.com/nespalette.html Maybe the PVM Style D93, or Composite Direct palettes would be one of the options to add. Since they're both geared towards matching the hardware on modern displays. If just one palette could be added I'd probably vote for the PVM Style D93 from Firebrand X.

Thanks for your amazing work!
John


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 562 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 ... 38  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group