Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Zonomi
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:45 pm

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by Zonomi » Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:03 am

kevtris wrote:it's in there but you'd need to write the PC side host code. the existing host code won't work. I tested a "proof of concept" and used it to dump a few carts so I know it works well enough for that.
Is there any guide to add the USB port (I guess some other components would be needed).
For 99% of people who won't use the copynes feature, would removing it free some space on the FPGA ?

Thanks for the update !

teknix1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:48 am

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by teknix1 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:56 am

I'm having an issue with switching between 4X and 4.5X 1080P60 height. I've been trying to determine what I need to do in order for the change to take effect but looks like I always have to switch between 720P and 1080P a few times and restart the console a few times before it works. Saving the settings doesn't seem to help. Am I missing something? I don't recall testing this out so much with V2.25 but I've had the issue with V3 and V3.01. On that note, seems to me like the placement of the setting if misleading, since it ties in with the resolution it would be nice if it would be under that menu, we could have two options for 1080:
1920 X 1080 4X Height
1920 X 1080 4.5X Height
... or something like that. I realize we're running out of space in the menus... Or was it hidden away under "Save and options" because that settings is savable?

Last question, is there a reason why select is the key to exit the Hi-Def Adapter Menu rather than just B? Seems to me a little less intuitive.

Thanks
Nic

zolwikwkurwik
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 12:00 am

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by zolwikwkurwik » Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:21 pm

Hello,
did anyone tried to update the firmware using a Nintendo MMC3 board (with sockets) + eproms and NOT a flashcart?
I'm stuck on firmware below 2.25 over a year now and can't get it to update. When I turn on the console I only get a grey screen.
I'm using AV Famicom modded with the black Hi-Def NES kit.

philenotfound
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 1:03 pm

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by philenotfound » Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:25 am

kevtris wrote:
philenotfound wrote:
IMG_20170425_170442.jpg
Is this the result of the mentioned palette screwiness?
That is on a NTSC Rev. G PPU with a Famicom Adapter.
yes, that is it. This should be fixed now. for good, I hope. I haven't tried it on a twin famicom, but I do have one here. not sure if I will have time to open it up and put the mod on for testing though. Modding the twin fami is tricky because the way it handles power is... weird. it really should have the power system redone. The problem is they use a discrete regulator, and the power switch does not turn the power on and off. It controls the base drive to the pass transistor! I don't know why they did this. The heatsink is obnoxiously large, too.
I have tested it again with V3.01 and is it fixed, thank you!

While testing V3.01 I noticed an occasional glitchy horizontal line in the middle of the screen with Super Mario Bros. Is that something new?

lidnariq
Posts: 9510
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by lidnariq » Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:16 am


teknix1
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 7:48 am

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by teknix1 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 11:36 am

While testing V3.01 I noticed an occasional glitchy horizontal line in the middle of the screen with Super Mario Bros. Is that something new?
I think you may be experiencing this here: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10104

Is this what you are seeing?

User avatar
Guspaz
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun May 10, 2015 6:56 pm
Location: Montréal

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by Guspaz » Fri Apr 28, 2017 2:13 pm

It's unfortunate that interpolation was removed, as it seems to be the only way to get a 4:3 aspect ratio without uneven horizontal pixel sizes (and the resulting shimmering).

Would it be possible to remove the HQX stuff so that interpolation could be re-added? I would imagine far more people would want interpolation than the HQX scalers.

User avatar
mikejmoffitt
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 8:43 pm

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by mikejmoffitt » Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:45 pm

The free-running (not matched with NES lines) scanlines could be removed, as I can't imagine anyone would pick them on purpose over the other options.

philenotfound
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 1:03 pm

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by philenotfound » Sat Apr 29, 2017 2:15 am

teknix1 wrote:
While testing V3.01 I noticed an occasional glitchy horizontal line in the middle of the screen with Super Mario Bros. Is that something new?
I think you may be experiencing this here: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10104

Is this what you are seeing?
Yes, thanks, didn't know of that glitch, was only aware of the one in the Mega Man 3 Level Select screen.

bjorncollaer
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:23 pm

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by bjorncollaer » Sat Apr 29, 2017 1:31 pm

Thank you again Kevtris !

Today i updated the Hi-Def Nes kits in 4 different PAL machines (German, Spanish, Dutch, French - secam) with the v3.01 firmware.

All the glitches are gone !!!

Simply Amazing ... :D

Proof here -> https://youtu.be/oQx4ucVmeQI

Best Regards
Bjorn

User avatar
kevtris
Posts: 504
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 2:09 am
Location: Indianapolis
Contact:

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by kevtris » Sat Apr 29, 2017 1:35 pm

bjorncollaer wrote:Thank you again Kevtris !

Today i updated the Hi-Def Nes kits in 4 different PAL machines (German, Spanish, Dutch, French - secam) with the v3.01 firmware.

All the glitches are gone !!!

Simply Amazing ... :D

Proof here -> https://youtu.be/oQx4ucVmeQI

Best Regards
Bjorn
awesome! so glad it worked!
/* this is a comment */

User avatar
Myask
Posts: 965
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 3:04 pm

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by Myask » Sat Apr 29, 2017 2:23 pm

Guspaz wrote:Would it be possible to remove the HQX stuff so that interpolation could be re-added? I would imagine far more people would want interpolation than the HQX scalers.
mikejmoffitt wrote:The free-running (not matched with NES lines) scanlines could be removed, as I can't imagine anyone would pick them on purpose over the other options.
I see three counts of "I don't want this feature so nobody probably does".

inGGames
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 2:07 pm

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by inGGames » Sun Apr 30, 2017 10:37 am

I can confirm that v3.01 has fixed all of the PAL issues I was experiencing! :mrgreen:

User avatar
Guido Anchovy
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:19 pm

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by Guido Anchovy » Sun Apr 30, 2017 6:51 pm

I just updated to 3.01. The new Palettes are cool!

I only have one problem at the moment and it involves the extra sound channels. Sometimes I get a loud buzzing if Sunsoft 5B and/or VRC6 is enabled. It depends on the NSF or game. I can post a sound sample if needed.

mykie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:40 pm

Re: Hi-Def NES HDMI Adapter for the NES

Post by mykie » Mon May 01, 2017 8:51 am

Guido Anchovy wrote: I only have one problem at the moment and it involves the extra sound channels. Sometimes I get a loud buzzing if Sunsoft 5B and/or VRC6 is enabled. It depends on the NSF or game. I can post a sound sample if needed.
This existed prior to the update; You'll want to disable these extra channels if the game you're playing doesn't support them.

From what I gather, enabling these is like switching to an input on a stereo amplifier that doesn't have anything plugged into it, you'd just get ambient electrical signals.

Post Reply