It is currently Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:46 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 562 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 34, 35, 36, 37, 38
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:01 pm
Posts: 83
Jdurg wrote:
I can't recall if this was answered already, but with my HiDefNES install the audio enables are not saved when I power off the system. So each time I turn on the NES I need to remember to go in there and save the sound channels I've enabled. Is it possible to save these somehow, or is there some conflict that keeps it from saving and that's just the way it is? (Not really a big deal, but i'm just a little curious).


Not a good idea to have them all on if not used.

E.g. try to play real Lagrange Point, but turn on VRC6 .. you will get horrible electric buz in audio output. Turn it off and only keep VRC7 on, and all is well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 12:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 1:01 pm
Posts: 19
leonk wrote:
Jdurg wrote:
I can't recall if this was answered already, but with my HiDefNES install the audio enables are not saved when I power off the system. So each time I turn on the NES I need to remember to go in there and save the sound channels I've enabled. Is it possible to save these somehow, or is there some conflict that keeps it from saving and that's just the way it is? (Not really a big deal, but i'm just a little curious).


Not a good idea to have them all on if not used.

E.g. try to play real Lagrange Point, but turn on VRC6 .. you will get horrible electric buz in audio output. Turn it off and only keep VRC7 on, and all is well.


Yeah, I noticed that happening and after my post realized that's likely why it forces you to turn them on each time you power on the system. As I said, it's not a big deal and i usually remember to do so when loading up a game and the sound is off. Considering everything else this miracle of a mod does, I'm still perfectly happy with my purchase. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:51 am 
Offline
Formerly akaviolence
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:21 am
Posts: 152
Location: Central Indiana
Jdurg wrote:
I can't recall if this was answered already, but with my HiDefNES install the audio enables are not saved when I power off the system. So each time I turn on the NES I need to remember to go in there and save the sound channels I've enabled. Is it possible to save these somehow, or is there some conflict that keeps it from saving and that's just the way it is? (Not really a big deal, but i'm just a little curious).

https://www.game-tech.us/hi-def-nes-faqs/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 7:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 1:01 pm
Posts: 19
game-tech.us wrote:
Jdurg wrote:
I can't recall if this was answered already, but with my HiDefNES install the audio enables are not saved when I power off the system. So each time I turn on the NES I need to remember to go in there and save the sound channels I've enabled. Is it possible to save these somehow, or is there some conflict that keeps it from saving and that's just the way it is? (Not really a big deal, but i'm just a little curious).

https://www.game-tech.us/hi-def-nes-faqs/


Perfect. Exactly what I was looking for. Sorry for my "derp" moment there. Still loving the HiDef Kit. Have some buddies who are thinking about getting one as well after seeing mine in use.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 10:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:44 am
Posts: 3
I had my Hi-Def NES kit installed by a modder from NintendoAge (Mobiusstriptech) on my NES Front Loader, very well done mod work I should add. There's nothing he did wrong that causes these minor issues I'd like to report:

#1 The new 3.01 firmware makes the door sound in the FDS version of Metroid no longer work.
#2 The new firmware also makes SMB1 have a green colored logo on the title/demo screen with glitched graphics on composite output, no problems playing it.
#3 Duck Hunt VS. (hacked for play on an original NES) doesn't boot up with the new firmware on composite output.
#4 Crime Busters keeps resetting itself with graphical glitches on composite when pressing the zapper trigger (Idk if this is a issue with the Hi-Def NES kit or EverDrive)

The first 3 of these problems go away when I downgraded back to V2.25. But on that firmware, I still get a little bit of graphical glitches on the SMB1 title and demo screen. My 32-in-1 multi-cart has speckles but this problem is fixed on HDMI when switching to Despecle option 1. I don't have an original Nintendo AC power supply, I've been using a Genesis Model 1 power supply. Idk if that may or may not make any difference. Are there any ideas for what may be causing these composite output problems? Should I use an official Nintendo NES AC power adapter for playing and/or updating?

Here is a video demonstrating all these issues on both V2.25 and V3.01.

https://youtu.be/RGS4AlozLVY


Note: These glitches don't happen on HDMI (except for no door sound in FDS Metroid on V3.01)



*I originally posted this as its own topic but decided to put it in this topic.*


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 1:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 8:44 am
Posts: 3
I apologize if my post has gotten annoying. I was hoping to get some kind of response to it but at this point I'm willing to just let it be informative.

I hate to do it, but I'm going to stick with firmware version 2.25 on the Hi-Def NES kit for now because of those bugs. I'm hoping some day Kevtris fixes some or possibly all of them on his next firmware update whenever that it is (I understand he's very busy right now with other projects, most notably the Zimba 3000), although I have to admit they're not high priority level bug fixes. I thought the new color palettes were pretty cool in V3.01 but I usually stick with "Beware's" color palette anyway but sometimes use the PC10 color palette as well because I like the colors it produces in certain games. Since sometimes I like to use PC10 colors, I did like that two of the new color palettes in V3.01 use a mixture of PC10 and composite colors which can look really good in some games.

I was worried about downgrading to V2.25 but I can confirm that it is possible to do without a hitch and I've done it several times already for testing bugs and comparing versions, as well as to make that youtube video I posted.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:11 pm
Posts: 4
It sounds like the Hi-Def NES FPGA is maxed out such it's nearly impossible to add any more features. Will there be revised hardware in the future with a more-capable FPGA?

My most nagging problem of not having a cropped 5x scale in 1080p could only be solved by revised hardware that allows more scanlines to be buffered.

kevtris wrote:
... I could not add 5x mode to 1080p because there's not enough scanline buffer to do so. I would've needed another 15-20 lines and I just don't have it. I did add 4x mode though. It's toggled in the renamed save and options menu (since I ran out of menu entries everywhere else). That was the originally save and update.

I do not think I can add anything else now. The FPGA's sitting at 99% full with around 50LE's left out of 10000, and the menu code's full up too with maybe 15-20 bytes free in there as well. So don't ask for anything else since it isn't happening :-)

Going to make a video tonight/tomorrow about the new stuff for the official release including how the update is applied, etc.


Now I have to wonder if straight 1920x1200 can be done (not cropped to 1080p) since Hi-Def NES wouldn't need to buffer any more scanlines. I keep bumping into situations where I want to use Hi-Def NES on my 1920x1200 native Hannspree HSG1075 or my 1920x1200 computer monitor.

The Hannspree HSG1075 forces vertical stretch of 1080p to 1200p, so the sides of each pixel are sharp with a perfect integer scale, but the non-integer vertical stretch makes the top/bottom of the pixels blurred or uneven:

Image


Computer monitors are generally lower latency and have less image processing. A 1920x1200 DVI mode would be absolutely awesome. My Acer 24" 1920x1200 monitor says the 1080p output from my Hi-Def NES is an "unsupported signal" when I tried it. I didn't get a chance to check the video output settings, but it should have been 1080p.

Even if 1920x1200 can't be done without revised hardware, I'm all for revising the hardware! I'd buy the revised one for myself without hesitation.

Jason GameTechUS recently tweeted that there won't even be pre-orders for a while. Maybe Kevtris is already working on a new version? *hope*


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 562 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 34, 35, 36, 37, 38

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group