It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:39 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 10:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:43 pm
Posts: 36
I have purchased the Kazzo cartridge "INL Retro" Dumper-Programmer, and It seems to work fine for dumping my ROM's to my computer using the Anago wx software. However I have a problem dumping a copy of "Super Mario Bros. + Tetris + Nintendo World Cup" Do anyone have some tips for how to do it? PS Super Mario Bros (single game) worked when I used an updated NROM script (thanks Ice Man) Any special scripts I'll need for this multicart to dump properly?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6277
Location: Seattle
That 3-in-1 is its own unique mapper, so it'll need its own unique Kazzo script.

As a first pass, you should be able to dump it as MMC3, to get a 64 KiB PRG (containing the menu and Tetris) and 128 KiB CHR (containing the menu, Tetris, and SMB)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 5:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:43 pm
Posts: 36
The MMC3 works at least for Tetris. Does any script for this exist, or is it any way to "copy/paste" some code and merge it together as a .nes?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6277
Location: Seattle
It shouldn't be too hard to modify the normal MMC3 script to work, let me try:

Code:
board <- {
   mappernum = 37, vram_mirrorfind = false, ppu_ramfind = false,
   cpu_rom = {
      size_base = 0x40000, size_max = 0x40000,
      banksize = 0x2000,
   },
   ppu_rom = {
      size_base = 0x40000, size_max = 0x40000,
      banksize = 0x0400
   }
};

function cpu_dump(d, pagesize, banksize) {
   for (local o = 0; o < 4; o ++) {
      cpu_write(d, 0xa001, 0x80); //enable outer bank register
      cpu_write(d, 0x6000, (o<<1) | (o&1)); // set outer bank
      for(local i = 0; i < 8; i ++) {
         cpu_write(d, 0x8000, 6);
         cpu_write(d, 0x8001, i);
         cpu_read(d, 0x8000, banksize);
      }
   }
}
function ppu_dump(d, pagesize, banksize) {
   for (local o = 0; o < 8; o += 4) {
      cpu_write(d, 0xa001, 0x80); // enable outer bank register
      cpu_write(d, 0x6000, o); // set outer bank
      for(local i = 0; i < 128; i ++){
         cpu_write(d, 0x8000, 2);
         cpu_write(d, 0x8001, i);
         ppu_read(d, 0x1000, banksize);
      }
   }
}
Using this on an ordinary MMC3 board would trash its save RAM, so don't do that.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:43 pm
Posts: 36
...now I'm worried! Can I NOT use this script with my Kazzo dumper?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6277
Location: Seattle
??

Just don't use it with a copy of SMB2 or SMB3 (or any other MMC3 game that can save the game): the ability to contain multiple games in one cartridge is controlled in the same way as those games save their game.


Last edited by lidnariq on Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19093
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Since when can Super Mario Bros. 2: Mario Madness or Super Mario Bros. 3 save (prior to All-Stars)? They're TSROM: WRAM but no battery.

Perhaps the intent was "Don't use it with TKROM games." Those actually have a battery.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5711
Location: Canada
tepples wrote:
Since when can Super Mario Bros. 2: Mario Madness ... save (prior to All-Stars)?

Since it was Doki Doki Panic on the FDS, which saved the progress of the game to disk.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 12:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:43 pm
Posts: 36
It didn't work :-(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 9:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6277
Location: Seattle
In what manner did it not work?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2016 2:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:43 pm
Posts: 36
It seems like it didn't work with "jnes", but I tried a couple of other emulators, and they run it just fine :-) I will test it on my EverDrive later.

Thanx for all the help :-D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group