It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 5:41 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:49 am
Posts: 2097
Location: WhereverIparkIt, USA
So it appears I should have kept my mouth shut until I got my copy of Quest Forge at least.. A month after my purchase I messaged piko asking when I can expect my copy. Didn't get a reply, just a refund, and no reply to my follow up message inquiring about the refund. So I guess I'm officially black listed from playing piko released games unless I buy second hand or pirate... Looks like there's a limited edition up on ebay now I'll have to keep my eye on. Appears piko sells QF through ebay as well, but I assume my purchase would get immediately refunded there as well. I just want to play the game!

BacteriaMage wrote:
Thanks! I wasn't clear on your answer but my question was ambiguously stated. I know the ROM would be safe once extracted. What I meant to ask was: Is it safe for my Kazzo (and me as the operator) to connect the cartridge to the Kazzo to extract the ROM? Is the Kazzo tolerant to the board's design or could it also be damaged? Moot point now though since I've already done it.

Oh right, the current kazzo design has 5v i/o so technically it will have some of the same concerns as 5v consoles. However considering it only takes a min or less to dump I wouldn't be too worried about it. That's not long enough for any overheating concerns like there is for playing the game for hours on end in a console.

Fisher wrote:
I'm really curious about the quality of retro titles that are being (re)released now.

My copy of Mystery World Dizzy arrived this week. The quality of printed materials and everything is top notch. But I was rather disappointed to find the same Chinese board inside the cartridge though. Guess it all makes sense though as piko branding was on the back label so they produced the carts per what appears standard procedure now. Safe to say fusion retro books & Oliver twins don't realize the hardware decisions/risks much like ludosity I'm sure.

_________________
If you're gonna play the Game Boy, you gotta learn to play it right. -Kenny Rogers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 851
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
I was curious about Watermelon Games' PCBs.
So I searched a little and found some pictures:
Attachment:
File comment: Back
2zqeae1.jpg
2zqeae1.jpg [ 423.12 KiB | Viewed 2097 times ]

Attachment:
File comment: Front - Epoxy
20sf2ib.jpg
20sf2ib.jpg [ 431.84 KiB | Viewed 2097 times ]

Attachment:
File comment: Front free
vSjowIZ.jpg
vSjowIZ.jpg [ 561.57 KiB | Viewed 2097 times ]

Is it dangerous?
I think the CPLD is 5v tolerant, but what about the straight connections to the ROM?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7842
Location: Seattle
It looks like all the signals go through the MAX 2, so the ROM should be safe.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 851
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Thanks!
It's nice to known these games are (or at least should be) safe! :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 4:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:49 am
Posts: 2097
Location: WhereverIparkIt, USA
Fisher wrote:
I was curious about Watermelon Games' PCBs.

dbelectronics found his glob top WMgames cart to be excessively hot while playing and found the 5v signals were getting clipped due to 3v clamping diodes. It was one of the motivating factors for him writing his article, but nice to see some of the carts appear to handle translation properly.

infiniteneslives wrote:
So I guess I'm officially black listed from playing piko released games unless I buy second hand or pirate... Looks like there's a limited edition up on ebay now I'll have to keep my eye on.

I missed out on the ebay auction, but I heard back from the developer and they were able to help me so I'm a happy camper now. ;)

_________________
If you're gonna play the Game Boy, you gotta learn to play it right. -Kenny Rogers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2018 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:12 pm
Posts: 15
So mapper 268 on the wiki mentions the MindKids board. Mapper 268 appears to be specifically for Coolboy. Is the MindKids board a submapper, or will it be assigned its own mapper?
I've dumped my NES Wisdom Tree Collection cart, and I hacked up a version of FCEUX that works with it, so now I want to know what mapper to use add to the header permanently. It requires a Coolboy type mapper, but the registers are at 0x5000-0x5FFF (4 registers), not 0x6000-0x6FFF. It has work RAM that it uses at 0x6000 for game patches.

The Noah's Ark USA release is also a MindKids board, but it runs with the same mapper as the original MMC3. The MindKids mapper is technically more accurate, but doesn't really matter for that one from a functional point of view.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 11:30 am
Posts: 709
I originally assigned mapper 268 for the Coolboy mapper, meaning the additional registers are at $6000, then just emulated Mindkids under the same mapper number, just having the mapper emulation respond to both $5000 and $6000. I have since come across carts for which this does not work, hence, I intend to assign mapper 268 submapper 1 to Mindkids.

One of these is a Chinese RPG (楚留香新传, Chǔliúxiāng xīn Zhuàn) running the Mindkids board in GNROM mode while using WRAM --- since the "lock" bit does not work in GNROM mode, WRAM writes to $6000 would inadvertently change the mapper configuration when responding at both $5000 and $6000.

There are Chinese RPGs from Hengedianzi that use the original Coolboy board as an oversize TNROM board (i.e. using the full eight bits of MMC3 registers 6 and 7 for 2 MiB of PRG-ROM space) with WRAM, even though the ASIC registers sit at $6000, by carefully using the WRAM Enable and Lock bits. They boot in the last 8 KiB bank of the first 512 KiB block, like a regular MMC3 would, then switch to 2 MiB mode using the following sequence that must be run from RAM at $000-$7FF:
Code:
   LDA   #$00
   STA   $A001   ; Disable WRAM, so that writing to the Coolboy ASIC does not corrupt saved game
   LDA   #$00
   STA   $6000   ; clear outer bank offset and lower mask bits
   LDA   #$60
   STA   $6001   ; Enable PRG A19-A20
   LDA   #$80
   STA   $6003   ; Lock the Coolboy ASIC registers, so that WRAM writes do not change them
   LDA   #$80
   STA   $A001   ; Enable WRAM
   JMP   ($FFFC)   ; Execute RESET Handler in the last 8 KiB bank, now in 2 MiB address space


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group