It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 1:12 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 471
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
I tried to exchange the 74'139 IC, no deal. :-(
I tested the substituted one on another board and it worked.
I'm also inclied to think that it's the ROM.
I'll try to dump the first ROM chip directly and see what will happen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 281
this cart two prg ic,One of them is bad, the data can't read it out .
Attachment:
20170313184257.png
20170313184257.png [ 56.49 KiB | Viewed 522 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 471
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Any idea if it's already dumped?
Maybe it's Rockman 3 [p1]?
I think I'll put a 256K chip and remove both.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 3:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 281
yes

I think
File: Rockman 3 - Dr. Wily no Saigo! (J) [p1].nes
Directory: D:\BaiduYunDownload\NESRen\
Soft-patched: No
CRC: 81F31409
SHA-1: 9AE241C0017309021D5FE3C18697098277F42474
System: Famicom
Board: TLROM, Mapper 4
PRG-ROM: 256k
CHR-ROM: 128k
Battery: No
Dump: Unknown


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 4:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:15 pm
Posts: 281
Tokkyuu Shirei - Solbrain (J)
is
Tokkyuu Shirei - Solbrain (J) [p2]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2017 5:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 471
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
I dumped the 1st PRG ROM directly.
Seems fine.
CRC32= 32afb72e

I've splitted the Rockman 3 - Dr. Wily no Saigo! (J) [p1] PRG in 128kB parts:
32afb72e xaa
3b08112c xab

Looks like it's the decoder IC or the mapper.
What chances I have to be a bad mapper IC?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 4:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 471
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
This thing is driving me crazy!!
I took the mapper chip out, put on a Turtles 3 test cartridge and it worked fine.

ROMs seems to be fine, I've dumped the suspected one and the CRC matches.
I've changed the 74'139 IC 5 times!!
I tested all the 74'139 ICs, they worked fine on a socketed SNES test cart.

I've traced the board, I've found that the mapper IC wasn't connected to +5v!!
How could this be!!!
Unfortunatelly, connecting the 5v pin to 5v made no difference. :-(

I'm just running out of ideas...
Maybe there's something wrong with the board??
I think I'll strip it naked and scan it, so more people can try to help.
Other than that, I could try to plug the PRG ROMS on my test board and see what happens...

I'm open to suggestions.
Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 2:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 471
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Success!!

Based on some info I've got from this thread I've written a new flash and removed both ROMs.
I'm not very sure of the problem, since in principle the ROMs should be mask roms, but in pirate's world anything is possible!!

I've got some nice "needlework" in the back of the board!! :lol:
Attachment:
File comment: Costura solda
20170316_224602.jpg
20170316_224602.jpg [ 641.54 KiB | Viewed 445 times ]

The front:
Attachment:
20170316_224553.jpg
20170316_224553.jpg [ 683.34 KiB | Viewed 445 times ]

The game:
Attachment:
20170316_224710.jpg
20170316_224710.jpg [ 610.28 KiB | Viewed 445 times ]

Since it's a thing I'm doing to myself, with no intention of getting it sold, as long as it works fine it's all OK.

Should I create a thread to talk about my intentions?
I've done many repros, but I sold none. It's not for the money, it's a hobby, it's for fun and to learn a bit more.
Well, most of them were from dead or defective boards.
I have been questioning myself for a while... and I've seem some guys just getting money with information from here...
Well, they could at least do a nice donation, couldn't them? :P


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 2:34 pm
Posts: 291
Location: Germany
Congratulations!

However, why did you use PLCC instead of DIP? Would've saved alot of wires and time. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 471
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
It was what I had available at the moment.
A DIP IC would be very easier to work with for sure.
But since I got most of the parts I use from discarded stuff, that was what I had. :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group