It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:19 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 3:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7230
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Apparently, NES-ETROM and HVC-ETROM boards can support both 8kb / 64 kbit (6264) and 32kb / 256 kbit (62256) chips, selected by solder pads. This allow this board to support 16 kb total RAM (two small chips) (the only possibility actually used by comercially released games), 40 kb total RAM (one chip each), and 64 kb total RAM (both big chips, suspected to be used by the Sim City prototype).

However, it looks like NES-EKROM / HVC-EKROM boards only supports small SRAM chips (8 kb / 64 kbit) while NES-EWROM only supports big SRAM chips (32 kb / 256 kbit). If it is simple to make a board that support both chip sizes, why are EKROM and EWROM different boards in the first place ? They could have made just a single board that supports both sizes through solder pads.

The only real difference seems to be with pin 26, which is Chip Enable on 8k SRAMs and A13 on 32k SRAMs.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 9:58 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6277
Location: Seattle
Bregalad wrote:
The only real difference seems to be with pin 26, which is Chip Enable on 8k SRAMs and A13 on 32k SRAMs.
I believe that's why.

1- SRAM +CE comes from the MMC5, and the MMC5 seems to have all the battery circuitry inside it.
2- It's less confusing to have banks 0-3 contain the same 8 KiB of RAM instead of only banks 1 and 3

Now, I haven't heard of more save loss on EWROM boards than on EKROM boards, so the former caution was probably unnecessary, but the second still holds.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7230
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
So basically EKROM has an extra enable used as data-loss-protection circuit, that neither ETROM nor EWROM have ? That kind of make sense... but the SRAM data loss has always been a mystery to me (even though I was a victim of that multiple times - no matter whether I pressed Reset or not).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:37 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6277
Location: Seattle
ETROM uses the extra enable, too. It's only EWROM that's shipped configured for one 32 KiB RAM, without the separate +CE control.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group