It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:52 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NES Clone Jailbars
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 4:53 am
Posts: 32
Hi. So I have this very hard to get nes clone that seems to have 4 cables going to an rf tuner. Through trial and error I found out that one of the pins where the tuner goes in actually outputs composite video but I have slight jailbars on the screen. Is there a way to eliminate them such as lifting pin 21 or would that not make any difference?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Clone Jailbars
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Poland
add 100uF between +5V and GND close to the nes-on-chip glob.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Clone Jailbars
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 6:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 4:53 am
Posts: 32
I would also like to modify it to run at 60hz. I've seen people say lift pin 16 and connect it to 5v but this is a UA6538 PPU and people say that doesn't work if you do it with that. It has the CPU UA6527P.

https://s14.postimg.org/vhe3gdlf5/20180127_015029.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Clone Jailbars
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7804
Location: Seattle
The decap'd UA6538 that barsmonster and others (edit: fixed my link) worked on analyzing shows that pins 14-17 should be the same function as the first-party 2C07, i.e. there's no way to change the frame rate.


Last edited by lidnariq on Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NES Clone Jailbars
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 4:53 am
Posts: 32
lidnariq wrote:
The decap'd UA6538 that barsmonster and others worked on analyzing shows that pins 14-17 should be the same function as the first-party 2C07, i.e. there's no way to change the frame rate.


I suppose I'll try get my hands on an ntsc clone. I have one ordered from aliexpress that was cheap but it only has built in games and doesn't take carts.

I have an FC twin but it looks really oversaturated and odd looking unless maybe it's just ntsc colour. The snes portion of it is broken though and it looks extremely cheaply made. Also you have to use snes controllers on it.

I'd like to just own a real ntsc console but it'll cost me far too much to import one.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group