SNES (Orig) Repair/Diag Help

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderator: Moderators

Chips

SNES (Orig) Repair/Diag Help

Post by Chips »

UPDATE: I got it fixed, I touched up the solder job on the two SRAM chips and the bus pins on the PPU1 chip and it started working right. I guess I'm not using quite enough heat when re-soldering the chips on the board, touching them up a 2nd time a little slower seems to make it look better and clearly I had atleast 2 bad solder joins/bridges, but I'm still learning =). Now onto the next system which I'm guessing PPU2 since it has sprite data missing and it seems like different modes/screens makes it crash.

Working with the older style SNES boards and trying to learn some new things by repairing old consoles. Anyway the board I'm a little confused on is a SHVC-CPU-01 (with the dedicated audio processor board).

EDIT: I found a tiny solder bridge I overlooked on pins 9 & 10 of the cpu, so below isn't really related now. Currently getting vertical lines in the foreground (covers sprites and background). Super Mario World plays fine, no crashes, just the graphical issue now. I'm thinking PPU1 or one of the SRAM chips I installed was bad.

Here's a photo of it's current state. (The big bars cover everything and are solid, behind it it seems to function somewhat normal. Sprites seem to look correct so I think that rules out PPU2.

Skip below if you don't want to see what cpu pins 9+10 bridge does.