Controlling 2A03 w/ Arduino

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderator: Moderators

QuirkySquid

Controlling 2A03 w/ Arduino

Post by QuirkySquid »

Hey all,

I'm new to this forum, NES hardware, and really to electronics in general. I mostly work on the software side of things. I'm a musician, a coder, and a fan of classic chiptune, so I thought it would be really neat to try and build a synthesizer using an actual RP2A03.

I ordered a broken Famicom off of ebay, extracted the chip, and now my plan is to control it using an Arduino Mega 2560. My initial thoughts were to have the arduino do all the heavy lifting, sending the correct signals directly to the 2A03 without any additional hardware. My goal is to have the simplest design possible. However, I've looked at several other similar projects, and there's usually a bunch of extra hardware involved.

This is essentially what I had in mind:

So here are my questions:
  1. 1. Is my plan feasible? Is it even possible to control the 2A03 with only an arduino?
  • 2. If it isn't possible, what additional hardware would be required?
  • 3. What are some good resources on how I could control the 2A03 (or any other required hardware)? In other words, where can I find out what signals to send from the arduino?

Thanks for reading, sorry if this is just basic stuff. I'm a complete noob to all this, so bear with me.
-QS
tepples

Re: Controlling 2A03 w/ Arduino

Post by tepples »

The MCU on your Arduino board will be acting as the 2A03's ROM and RAM. So you'll need to spoon-feed opcodes onto the eight data bus pins and react to what it outputs on M2 and a subset of the address lines. Most of these signals change at 1.8 MHz, one-twelfth of the input clock.
pubby

Post by pubby »