It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:11 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: powerpak problem
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 5:56 pm
Posts: 5
got one recently, loads and plays games with basic mappers, tried up to 1.30 and it works, but if I try the save state powermappers (which is the reason I bought the thing), it says file not found when trying to load any games.

newest mappers from retrousb site or ultimatemappers says bad file header on boot and wont even let me select games, I assume the cart itself is working since I can play games, so it's maybe a cf problem but why would it half work on certain mappers? transcend 4gb fat32.

try order a different card?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: powerpak problem
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 6:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20283
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Which ROM are you using, and how did you get it? Is it ripped from your own cartridge using a Kazzo or the like?

If you have a hex editor on your PC, what are the first 16 bytes of the ROM (starting with 4E 45 53, which means "NES")?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: powerpak problem
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 5:56 pm
Posts: 5
not my own cartridge, forget where I got them but just tested a few I had, they work with mappers 1.20, 1.30, but say file not found on powermappers, same roms.

the bad file header message when using retrousb newest mapper occurs even without any roms on the cf, it says that right after loading screen and wont let me select roms.

You think it's a rom thing? Actually I will try a whole bunch just to be sure, I more suspect the cf and that 4gb and that brand is not so good with the powerpak, I ordered some lower capacity cf cards for cheap so hopefully that will fix it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: powerpak problem
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3530
Location: Indianapolis
I had that "bad file header" problem a while back, what I did was copy the files off the CF card to my PC, formatted the CF card, copied the stuff back, then it worked.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: powerpak problem
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 5:56 pm
Posts: 5
edit: formatted clean and used usb 2 port instead of usb 3 for my card reader (maybe that did something) and everything works, thanks for advice :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group