Troubleshooting Top Loader Issues with power and PPU

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderator: Moderators

datsunhls30

Troubleshooting Top Loader Issues with power and PPU

Post by datsunhls30 »

A year ago, I bought a top loader that appeared to be in good shape off eBay. My goal was to build a little composite video amp and give it as a gift. I'm just a hobbyist in electronics stuff, I have a lot of experience soldering/desoldering/troubleshooting but have no formal training.

Initially the NES seemed to work, but was intermittent. From power on, it may take several resets before I'd get a game to load. Additionally the 7805 was pretty hot to the touch, even on the heat sink. I did not notice excessive heat from the CPU or PPU. When I measured the +5v rail, I would get something closer to +3.6v. I decided to replace the large electrolytic capacitor, still got 3.6v. I took the 7085 out of circuit and it produced +5v, but under a ~200mA load it would get very hot and the voltage would drop. I believe that chip should handle more than 1000mA without a voltage drop.

Easy fix, right? I replaced the 7805 with a brand new one, and suddenly my +5v rail was +5v (and the regulator seemed to run much cooler). Also, the unit would load the game every time. I was pretty pleased, I fixed it!

On to the next problem, jail bars(or at least reducing them). I started replacing the other electrolytic caps(C1, C3, C11) around the board with new ones, and testing the extracted ones in the process. All the caps were in spec, but here's where stuff went bad: