It is currently Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:39 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8559
Location: Seattle
That implies the PRG ROM is correct but the CHR ROM is wrong... not certain how to help beyond that.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 5:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:53 pm
Posts: 13
I appreciate your help. If anyone has any idea of how to fix it this, please let me know.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 5:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8559
Location: Seattle
I mean, you did put in a CHR ROM instead of a CHR RAM, right? Because it's GNROM now...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:53 pm
Posts: 13
So I made a huge mistake! I triple checked on the ReproX "How to" and checked where I needed to bridge. I accidentally soldered a bridge in a spot that wasn't supposed to have a bridge. After breaking it, everything works fine! Thank you so much for the new patch and for everyone's help with this! Very happy to be able to play a truer version of the game!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 11412
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Apparently the patch just translates the game, it doesn't change the mapper, so it requires a GNROM board, like the original game. If you used a BNROM board, that means you burned the program but ignored the graphics, and since BNROM uses RAM for graphics, you're getting whatever garbage is in the RAM when the system powers up.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:53 pm
Posts: 13
Thanks, but all it was was an incorrect bridge on the board. The original patch was apparently a mess.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 6:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8559
Location: Seattle
tokumaru wrote:
Apparently the patch just translates the game, it doesn't change the mapper
Yes, but...

Quote:
so it requires a GNROM board, like the original game
The patch is against a specific ROM hack. The ROM hack has a trainer. So the offsets in the original IPS file are wrong by 512 bytes relative to the correct game dump.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group