It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 3:30 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NTSC x PAL-M roms
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 8:42 am
Posts: 15
Location: Brazil
Hi, there!

Supposing I'm going to put some roms on cartridges:

The TV system at my country is PAL-M (different from japanese PAL). So I'm supposing native consoles follows this system.

So, what are the problems I can have in putting NTSC roms to play on PAL-M consoles? We had national versions of the original NES, and carts are plain compatible, but I dunno. And the national consoles plays whatever you put in them (China, Japan, USA carts...)

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: NTSC x PAL-M roms
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 9:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:59 pm
Posts: 1441
NES virus wrote:
(different from japanese PAL)


Er, Japan used NTSC.

The only real difference, hardware-wise, between an NTSC cart and a PAL cart is the lockout chip, and that itself isn't tied to a specific video format, but to a specific region. If you 'de-chip' your console (instructions can be found elsewhere), you can use any cart you want.

_________________
Quietust, QMT Productions
P.S. If you don't get this note, let me know and I'll write you another.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 3:55 pm 
Offline
Formerly Fx3
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 4:59 pm
Posts: 3155
Location: Brazil
PAL-M is used here in Brazil. I import everything in NTSC and it works fine without any restriction. Anyway, my NES is a compatible console, released around 1989/1990 as "Phantom System". I could include pics if you're curious enough for that... :D

_________________
Zepper
RockNES developer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 5:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 8:42 am
Posts: 15
Location: Brazil
Quietust -> "Er, Japan used NTSC."

Hmm... maybe I'm confused about European system. dunno. :?

So, if the only difference is about the lockout chip, them I won't have any problems, since my console doesn't has this limitation. :)

Fx3 -> Yes, I have the Phantom System too (awesome console!) But at this moment, I'm using Turbo Game, that dual system from CCE (Conserta, Conserta, Estraga) :wink: but it's very good too.


Thanks for your replies guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group