PowerPak on Famicom AV problem

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Post Reply
gutsdozer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:34 pm

PowerPak on Famicom AV problem

Post by gutsdozer » Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:17 pm

Maybe I'm missing something, but my PowerPak doesn't seem to work on my Famicom AV console (with Yobo adapter). The PowerPak works fine on my top-loading NES, but when I try it on the Fami AV, I get a gray screen with red squares. Any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
Jeroen
Posts: 1036
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:49 pm

Post by Jeroen » Sat Jan 30, 2010 4:18 pm

Might be that the yobo adaptor routes a line wrong. I've also noticed that powerpak can be a bit picky about the cart connector. Your best bet -> try another adaptor or clean the connector.

gutsdozer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:34 pm

Post by gutsdozer » Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:59 pm

Jeroen wrote:Might be that the yobo adaptor routes a line wrong. I've also noticed that powerpak can be a bit picky about the cart connector. Your best bet -> try another adaptor or clean the connector.
Yeah, my next step was to get a new adapter, but unfortunately, the only non-Yobo one I can find is $40.

gutsdozer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:34 pm

Post by gutsdozer » Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:30 pm

You get what you pay for; stay away from Yobo adapters. The $40 one works perfectly. It's translucent black with white text, for anyone else looking.

Great Hierophant
Posts: 769
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:35 pm

Post by Great Hierophant » Sat Feb 06, 2010 10:57 am

gutsdozer wrote:You get what you pay for; stay away from Yobo adapters. The $40 one works perfectly. It's translucent black with white text, for anyone else looking.
It works well, but not perfectly. Games that map their own VRAM will not work properly because two pins are tied together on the converter as they are on 98% of commercial cartridges. They must be separated for the 2% (Gauntlet, Rad Racer II, After Burner, all MMC5 games) to work properly. With alot of scraping and some soldering, I was able to get these games to work properly with real cartridges but apparently destroyed its ability to work with the PowerPak. Now it displays severe graphical glitches from menu to game.

The family converter, as seen here, will work perfectly with all commercial cartridges, including all games listed above. They will also work with the ROMs which work with the PowerPak (no MMC5).
http://www.jandar.net/famiconv/ I am not a fan because of its exposed board, which is too thick and does not actually rest on the system case.
Last edited by Great Hierophant on Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

gutsdozer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:34 pm

Post by gutsdozer » Sun Feb 07, 2010 4:35 pm

Great Hierophant wrote:
gutsdozer wrote:You get what you pay for; stay away from Yobo adapters. The $40 one works perfectly. It's translucent black with white text, for anyone else looking.
It works well, but not perfectly. Games that map their own VRAM will not work properly because two pins are tied together. (Gauntlet, Rad Racer II, After Burner, all MMC5 games). With alot of scraping and some soldering, I was able to get these games to work properly with real cartridges but apparently destroyed its ability to work with the PowerPak. Now it displays severe graphical glitches from menu to game.

The family converter, as seen here, will work perfectly with the PowerPak.
http://www.jandar.net/famiconv/ I am not a fan because of its exposed board, which is too thick and does not actually rest on the system case.
Does the Family Converter play MMC5 games, or is the same deal as the others?

Great Hierophant
Posts: 769
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:35 pm

Post by Great Hierophant » Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:32 am

gutsdozer wrote:
Great Hierophant wrote:
gutsdozer wrote:You get what you pay for; stay away from Yobo adapters. The $40 one works perfectly. It's translucent black with white text, for anyone else looking.
It works well, but not perfectly. Games that map their own VRAM will not work properly because two pins are tied together. (Gauntlet, Rad Racer II, After Burner, all MMC5 games). With alot of scraping and some soldering, I was able to get these games to work properly with real cartridges but apparently destroyed its ability to work with the PowerPak. Now it displays severe graphical glitches from menu to game.

The family converter, as seen here, will work perfectly with the PowerPak.
http://www.jandar.net/famiconv/ I am not a fan because of its exposed board, which is too thick and does not actually rest on the system case.
Does the Family Converter play MMC5 games, or is the same deal as the others?
Yes, but only on real cartridges (above post edited).

lifeixie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 1:44 am

Post by lifeixie » Fri Feb 12, 2010 6:48 am

Hong Kong, China, the product of many things'
Image

Image

Image



Image




Image

Image

Image

User avatar
Xious
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Sol 3 in Mutter's Spiral
Contact:

Post by Xious » Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:19 am

gutsdozer wrote:You get what you pay for; stay away from Yobo adapters. The $40 one works perfectly. It's translucent black with white text, for anyone else looking.
Where did you get the Non-Yobo "$40" adapter? I've been looking for one that is known to be compatible with the PowerPak on the Famicom...

Link please?

-Xious

mic_
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:29 am

Re: PowerPak on Famicom AV problem

Post by mic_ » Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:38 pm

Digging up this old topic just to say that thanks to the description of what the "good" adapter is supposed to look like, I was able to find one on eBay for about $25, and now my PowerPak works on my HVC-001 model Famicom.
Unfortunately expansion audio doesn't seem to work, but at least it's an improvement over the Yobo adapter that only gave me a white/red/orange screen when used with the PowerPak.

User avatar
rainwarrior
Posts: 7843
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: PowerPak on Famicom AV problem

Post by rainwarrior » Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:19 pm

I use an adapter from "HKDOCTOR" that looks like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Adaptor-Convert ... 1297315250

It works for most things. There are a few games it has trouble with, like 3D World Runner uses the CHR address lines in a way that isn't supported by the adapter, for instance. This can be addressed by modifying the adapter, if needed, but the few games it doesn't run weren't an issue to me.

If you want expansion audio to work, you need to mod it (cut the audio return loop, and basically connect the appropriate exp pin to the audio loop just like the audio mod you would have to do to your NES).

mic_
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:29 am

Re: PowerPak on Famicom AV problem

Post by mic_ » Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:54 pm

Anyone knows how to open one of these things without breaking the case? I'm talking about an adapter that looks something like this:

Image

There are no visible screws. I tried using a knife to pry it open, but that didn't work (like I said, I don't want to force it open at the cost of damaging the plastic).

lidnariq
Posts: 9702
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: PowerPak on Famicom AV problem

Post by lidnariq » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:56 pm

It is probably glued or welded shut, unfortunately.

ApolloBoy
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:17 pm

Re: PowerPak on Famicom AV problem

Post by ApolloBoy » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:48 pm

It's actually screwed together. The screws are hidden behind the rear label so you'd either have to damage the label or use a hair dryer to remove it.

Post Reply