quick questions about famiclones and FC3

Discuss hardware-related topics, such as development cartridges, CopyNES, PowerPak, EPROMs, or whatever.

Moderators: B00daW, Moderators

Post Reply
sleepy9090
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:04 am

quick questions about famiclones and FC3

Post by sleepy9090 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:34 pm

I'm looking for a clone system to play my 8bit famicom games on. I have an adapter and usually play them in toaster nes but am thinking of picking up a FC3 because they play snes, nes, and genesis.

Question is does anyone know if this system will accept the adapter so i can play famicom carts in it, or any known problems with game compatibility?

If not then any recommendations on a good famiclone system?

thanks

sleepy9090
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:04 am

Post by sleepy9090 » Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:48 pm

well, after much research, im thinking the fc3 is crap

i have my sites on the RetroN 3

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 12003
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Fri Jul 09, 2010 8:46 pm

sleepy9090 wrote:well, after much research, im thinking the fc3 is crap
Well, which Famiclone isn't?

sleepy9090
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:04 am

Post by sleepy9090 » Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:32 pm

haha true
just wanting something to play quick, kids etc

tepples
Posts: 22288
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Post by tepples » Sat Jul 10, 2010 5:00 am

tokumaru wrote:
sleepy9090 wrote:well, after much research, im thinking the fc3 is crap
Well, which Famiclone isn't?
kevtris's. Or the one we haven't written yet in Verilog.

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 12003
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:52 am

Well, which Famiclone available for purchase isn't?

What good is a thing nobody can obtain? It's the same as if it didn't exist.

User avatar
alienform
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Post by alienform » Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:02 pm

I own real Nes hardware the old style original nintendo with the flip up door in front and also have a few famiclones. I own a retro-duo , with an nes adapter i made for original nes controller and also have a yobo nes, a portable mini x i beleive its called and to me when playing games i dont worry to much about the sound, or exact color rendering as long as there is no slow down all these details really go out the window when your in the game. The real hardware of course is always best for compatability reasons but a famiclone can also be fun. One downside to famiclones are
that i have not been able to use powerpak on any of them yet. But again for a cheap new top loader i would recommend the yobo for nes and retro-duo for snes. I notice distortion in sound with the retro-duo with super mario 3 but not as much with the yobo system its seems smooth enough and emulation is good enough for a few hours of retro gaming.
famicomJapan

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 12003
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:09 pm

From what I've been told, the old Famiclones manufactured here in Brazil that used individual chips instead of NOACs do work with the PowerPak.

User avatar
alienform
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Post by alienform » Sat Jul 10, 2010 8:10 pm

tokumaru wrote:From what I've been told, the old Famiclones manufactured here in Brazil that used individual chips instead of NOACs do work with the PowerPak.
intresting i would like to know more about this, do you know any links to thiese brazilian clones and were to buy them that would be great info!
famicomJapan

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 12003
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Sat Jul 10, 2010 10:39 pm

I can't find the link now, but another brazilian member here once showed me photos of the PowerPak running on a Turbo Game. I have a Turbo Game myself (picture - as you can see, it's not NOAC-based and it has both types of cartridge slots), but I haven't tested my PowerPak on it because I can't get any controllers to work, so I'd be stuck in the menu and I don't see the point.

This console hasn't been manufactured for years, but it's still fairly easy to buy them used. I usually shop for this stuff at Mercado Livre, a site that works kinda like eBay. I don't know if the people who sell there are used to shipping internationally though.

But why don't you just get a real NES? I'm sure it would be cheaper...

User avatar
alienform
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Post by alienform » Mon Jul 12, 2010 8:17 am

tokumaru wrote:I can't find the link now, but another brazilian member here once showed me photos of the PowerPak running on a Turbo Game. I have a Turbo Game myself (picture - as you can see, it's not NOAC-based and it has both types of cartridge slots), but I haven't tested my PowerPak on it because I can't get any controllers to work, so I'd be stuck in the menu and I don't see the point.

This console hasn't been manufactured for years, but it's still fairly easy to buy them used. I usually shop for this stuff at Mercado Livre, a site that works kinda like eBay. I don't know if the people who sell there are used to shipping internationally though.

But why don't you just get a real NES? I'm sure it would be cheaper...
thanks alot great info!
famicomJapan

User avatar
Xious
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Sol 3 in Mutter's Spiral
Contact:

Post by Xious » Wed Jul 28, 2010 4:47 am

Why a clone and not a real Famicom, if you are worried about the issues of compatibility?

-Xious

Post Reply