It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 10:34 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


1. NO BLATANT PIRACY. This includes reproducing homebrew less than 10 years old, with the exception of free software.
2. No advertising your reproductions, with the exception of free software.
3. Be nice. See RFC 1855 if you aren't sure what this means.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 11:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:33 pm
Posts: 694
OK so far I have replaced the PRG rom in "Crysalis" with the 256k flashrom "Pm29F002T-12PC" witch is very simmaler to a 29F020

the onley pins I left unconnected is WE# and OE# everything else is connected to its maching place on the board

I have cut out the CHR rom but have yet to desoder the pins from the rom witch was on there

as a test I have tryed loading a rom image of the japanise game "shaffen fight" by eraceing the 16bite header leaveing me with an image just the right size

due to the fact I an unwilling to risk my real nes till I get it working I am useing a crappy noac famiclone called "Game Player" when I try to load the cart all I get is black and afterward it wont run any cart for a wile then it starts working again


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3488
Location: Indianapolis
/WE and /OE are inputs, they need to be connected to something. You could connect /WE to 5V, I'm not sure where to get the /OE on an MMC3 board. I suppose you could connect it to GND.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:33 pm
Posts: 694
alright I will give it a try thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:33 pm
Posts: 694
not working


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19348
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
/OE goes to PRG /OE (pin 14) of the MMC3.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:41 pm 
are you sure? that pin connects to pin 2 of the s-ram


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:42 pm 
^ im going by this page
http://www.tripoint.org/kevtris/mappers/mmc3/


Top
  
 
 Post subject: sorry I sould sign in
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:45 pm 
^for pin number onley I followed the trace to the second pin of the s-ram


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 1:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:33 pm
Posts: 694
^I was wrong but it dose not seem to be working

im sorry but are you compleatley sure that is how it needs to be wired?

with is WE# connected to vcc and OE# connected to pin 14 on the mapper

if you are I guess it must be the rom I am useing and I will have to order some of a differint type


Last edited by peppers on Sat Oct 22, 2005 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 2:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Louisville, KY
Why not just get a 27c020?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:33 pm
Posts: 694
they are eproms I do not want to buy a UV lamp

edit:I want ahead and ordered some real 29F020's if they dont work I dont know what to do


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Louisville, KY
peppers wrote:
they are eproms I do not want to buy a UV lamp

edit:I want ahead and ordered some real 29F020's if they dont work I dont know what to do


Well, you DONT have to have a uv lamp, just hope the burn works correctly and everything is set up right and you are fine


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:33 pm
Posts: 694
yes but I intend to program them more than once


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 6:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:01 pm
Posts: 83
Couple of pointers:

- I'm not familiar with the flash ROM you're using.. just make sure that the specs on it (pinout) match and you'll be find
- don't worry about using it on your real NES. I've never EVER heard of a dev cart killing an NES!

Lastly, some games will not boot correctly if the CHR is missing (as you made it sound).

good luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 2:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:33 pm
Posts: 694
thanks, actually the game I had loaded into it had no CHR rom I was just saying I cut out the the mask ROM for the CHR but did not desoder the pins from it (none of them are toching)

so now I wait for flashroms to come in unless those 2 pins dont go where I got um


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group