It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:05 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 571 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 35, 36, 37, 38, 39  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 3:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6526
Location: Seattle
lidnariq wrote:
You could PM me the bad dump and maybe I'll be able to figure out what's going wrong.
Huh, weird.

The literal contents of that dump are
bank 0, bank 0, bank 0, bank 0
bank 1, bank 1, bank 1, bank 1
bank 2, bank 2, bank 2, bank 2
bank 3, bank 3, bank 3, bank 15

... derp. That's actually exactly what our documentation for mapper 82 says it does. Sorry!

Use these lines:
Code:
   for(i = 0; i < pagesize - 2; i += 2){
      cpu_write(d, 0x7efa, i << 2);
      cpu_write(d, 0x7efc, (i | 1) << 2);
      cpu_read(d, 0x8000, banksize * 2);
   }
   cpu_write(d, 0x7efe, i << 2);


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6526
Location: Seattle
Not clear what's going wrong, but you could try this?
cpu_write(d, 0x7efc, (i*4) + 4);


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:18 am
Posts: 27
lidnariq wrote:
Not clear what's going wrong, but you could try this?
cpu_write(d, 0x7efc, (i*4) + 4);


That did the trick it didn't work at first but I went back and looked at one the early scripts switched out the PRG Banking Registers again and it worked perfect even the PRG Checksum is correct. Dumped it and the game works like it should. Thank you.. Awesome..

here is the working code..

Code:
 /*
Taito X1-005
TFC-FM-5900 不動明王伝のみ Program ROM size は 2M
save RAM が存在するがアクセス方法は不明
*/
board <- {
   mappernum = 82, ppu_ramfind = false, vram_mirrorfind = false,
   cpu_rom = {
      size_base = 1 * mega, size_max = 2 * mega,
      banksize = 0x2000
   },
   ppu_rom = {
      size_base = 2 * mega, size_max = 4 * mega,
      banksize = 0x2000 / 8 //0x0800*2 + 0x0400 * 4
   }
};

function cpu_dump(d, pagesize, banksize)
{
   local i;
  for(i = 0; i < pagesize - 2; i += 2){
      cpu_write(d, 0x7efa, i << 2);
      cpu_write(d, 0x7efb, (i*4) + 4);
      cpu_read(d, 0x8000, banksize * 2);
   }
   cpu_write(d, 0x7efc, i << 2);
   cpu_read(d, 0xc000, banksize * 2);
}

function ppu_dump(d, pagesize, banksize)
{
   for(local i = 0; i < pagesize; i += 8){
      local ar = [i, i|2, i|4, i|5, i|6, i|7];
      cpu_write(d, 0x7ef0, ar);
      ppu_read(d, 0x0000, banksize * 8);
   }
}

_________________
Don't buy FamicomNes games WillyNilly Check the Mapper first
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Discrete_logic_mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:INES_Mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Bad_iNES_Mappers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6526
Location: Seattle
Zoldark wrote:
cpu_write(d, 0x7efb, (i*4) + 4);
0x7EFB ??

Oh derp. Of course.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:18 am
Posts: 27
I got to dumping some more games dumped about 20 of them with success, but wouldn't you know it I had trouble with yet another Baseball game.

This time it's the Nes Game Bases Loaded I think the problem is because it's MMC1 SFROM and SFROM is not like SKROM SEROM or SUROM and my version unlike the database isn't just SFROM it is SFEXPROM and has 3 big chips and reads MMC1A not MMC1B2.

Bases Loaded
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=627

SxROM
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/SxROM

I did take and modify the SKROM script to make it dump the game with the correct sizes of 256kb PRG and 64kb CHR but the resulting dump doesn't work although it is the correct size of 320kb as both the PRG checksum and CHR checksum are incorrect. I did however take the same Modified Script and was able to correctly Dump, Bases Loaded II: Second Season that is SLROM and is more close to SKROM but wouldn't come out with the correct size of 384kb with the normal script. Worked fine with correct checksum.

Bases Loaded II: Second Season
http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=14

Here is My Modified SKROM Code

I just Increased the sizes of CPU_Rom and PPU_Rom
Code:
board <- {
   mappernum = 1, vram_mirrorfind = false, ppu_ramfind = true,
   cpu_rom = {
      size_base = 2 * mega, size_max = 2 * mega,
      banksize = 0x4000,
   },
   cpu_ram = {
      size_base = 0x2000, size_max = 0x2000,
      banksize = 0x2000
   },
   ppu_rom = {
      size_base = 2 * mega, size_max = 2 * mega,
      banksize = 0x1000,


I might should take a picture of my board as it is a bit different than the database but my Android is occupied at the moment. Actually I just re-dumped Bases Loaded and the CHR Checksum is correct but not the PRG Checksum. So is like before I guess, why do I have to get such strange games.. I'm sorry for having such troubles, I try to fix stuff myself but I end up still needing help.. All the best..

_________________
Don't buy FamicomNes games WillyNilly Check the Mapper first
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Discrete_logic_mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:INES_Mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Bad_iNES_Mappers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6526
Location: Seattle
SFEXPROM is hilarious. Read this thread: viewtopic.php?t=1371


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:18 am
Posts: 27
lidnariq wrote:
SFEXPROM is hilarious. Read this thread: https://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?t=1371


That bad image of it is the same board I have for Bases Loaded everything matches. lol

it must be some sort Lock Out Chip.
As it has NES-LD-0 for the PRG then the other chip has NES-LD-0-EXP283 like it overrides or patches the PRG on start up.

Could you like cut it off or desolder it from the games board and have the game still work?

I may have to try getting another Cart of it and hope I get the MMC1B2 normal SFROM version. it's Bases Loaded, and baseball games are usually cheap.

I do have another complex board coming Roger Clemens' MVP Baseball but it's MMC3 MC-ACC but I've not had any trouble with MMC3 games most are compatible boards and I ordered the Mapper 79 F-15 City War, I'm hoping it dumps. Those are 2 the 6 more NES games I'm still waiting to receive. So far I've dumped 16 Nes games with success. I did only have 4 but I bought some more.. lol

_________________
Don't buy FamicomNes games WillyNilly Check the Mapper first
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Discrete_logic_mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:INES_Mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Bad_iNES_Mappers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6526
Location: Seattle
Zoldark wrote:
[EXP283] must be some sort Lock Out Chip
Don't think so. You've read the thread. Like Kevtris concluded, I think the cost of getting a new run of Mask ROMs made must have been expensive enough that it was cheaper to get an IC that patches things than to make get an entirely new production run made.

Quote:
Could you like cut it off or desolder it from the games board and have the game still work?
No. Without the EXP283, you will get the same contents from the ROM that you get from the Kazzo; i.e. it won't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:18 am
Posts: 27
lidnariq wrote:
Zoldark wrote:
[EXP283] must be some sort Lock Out Chip
Don't think so. You've read the thread. Like Kevtris concluded, I think the cost of getting a new run of Mask ROMs made must have been expensive enough that it was cheaper to get an IC that patches things than to make get an entirely new production run made.

Quote:
Could you like cut it off or desolder it from the games board and have the game still work?
No. Without the EXP283, you will get the same contents from the ROM that you get from the Kazzo; i.e. it won't work.


yep, I miss took that part, it just patches or fixes the game to work or something, very weird.

I'll likely be buying some more games from estarland or somewhere and I might throw this one in there again when I do.

What to do with extra games or boards?

Actually I just got it on Ebay cost me 5 dollars but they showed the Board and it was a SFROM version I hope it dumps.
Just Realized I bought the Rev B version SF1ROM but it is more similar to SFROM then SFEXPROM with no patching of the PRG at start up. Cross Fingers that it doesn't give me trouble. SF1ROM is supposedly similar to SLROM-04 and that is more similar to SKROM or at least I hope so..

_________________
Don't buy FamicomNes games WillyNilly Check the Mapper first
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Discrete_logic_mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:INES_Mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Bad_iNES_Mappers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:18 am
Posts: 27
Got my New Bases Loaded Rev. B game, and Dumped it with my modified SKROM Script and it came out correct.

I was able to dump all my new games except I can't seem to dump F-15 City War, I read here http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7912&start=405 and went back a few pages but I tried everything that was suggested and I just couldn't dump my game correctly when I do dump it, My dump comes out only with correct PRG as I can't get any script to dump it with more than 8kb of CHR it is suppose to have 32kb..

Did anyone come up with a sure fire way of dumping it? and what script do you use?

Please Help.

_________________
Don't buy FamicomNes games WillyNilly Check the Mapper first
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Discrete_logic_mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:INES_Mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Bad_iNES_Mappers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 11:30 am
Posts: 327
What publisher is your F15 City War cart from? There are relases by Idea-tek/TXC, AVE, and Gluk Video, with Idea-tek's original release being undumped. AVE should use Mapper 79, Gluk Video mapper 36 or 79, while Idea-tek's mapper is unknown but probably 136, which might be dumped with the Mapper136a script linked here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:18 am
Posts: 27
NewRisingSun wrote:
What publisher is your F15 City War cart from? There are relases by Idea-tek/TXC, AVE, and Gluk Video, with Idea-tek's original release being undumped. AVE should use Mapper 79, Gluk Video mapper 36 or 79, while Idea-tek's mapper is unknown but probably 136, which might be dumped with the Mapper136a script linked here.


I think it is AVE, it has the same board as what is in the Database here https://web.archive.org/web/20140408214540/http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=965

has AVE on one side and on the PRG Chip it has "Rev 11 2/19/92" I tried dumping it with the TXC_79 Script but it comes out with only 32 Kb PRG and 8kb CHR, the PRG has the correct checksum but it won't dump the CHR correctly.

No matter what I try I can't get it to Dump properly I just end up with a 40kb size dump and not 64kb.

_________________
Don't buy FamicomNes games WillyNilly Check the Mapper first
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Discrete_logic_mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:INES_Mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Bad_iNES_Mappers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:10 pm 
Online

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:50 am
Posts: 43
What? Idea-Tek original release of F-15 is undumped? Let me help then. Will try the 136 script tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:18 am
Posts: 27
Actually I Just was looking at my board Closer, and it is slightly different than the Database, for the CHR Chip.

My Board
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xywvg1h6zthmr49/Myboardf15cw.png?dl=0

_________________
Don't buy FamicomNes games WillyNilly Check the Mapper first
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Discrete_logic_mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:INES_Mappers
https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Category:Bad_iNES_Mappers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 6:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 11:30 am
Posts: 327
The txc_79 script that I have found on-line writes the CHR bank number to address $4200, which is not what the board expects according to the nesdev wiki. The game writes to $4120 as well, not to $4200. Assuming your mapper 79 dumping script looks like the one I linked to, replace
Code:
cpu_write(d, 0x4200, i);
with
Code:
cpu_write(d, 0x4120, i);
and try again.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 571 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 35, 36, 37, 38, 39  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group