It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:06 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19335
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I remember that the controller ports of a PAL NES behave differently from those of the NTSC NES in certain obscure ways. So are you ready to region code your game? The only game I ever coded with a region lock was LJ65, and that was because I didn't yet know how to select NTSC or PAL behavior at runtime like I later learned by the time I made Thwaite.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:04 pm 
Offline
Formerly 65024U

Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 2257
What NES has a row of 10K resistors on the data bus? lol. If so, that'd mean games like DK ripped from WiiWare with bus issues wouldn't have happened like they did when RetroUSB released it, but people had problems on their NES's. And then the same with the powerpak, why did they need to add pull ups there? They aren't there AFAIK.

And what would be those "obscure ways" and why would it work different from an NTSC NES? Are the physics in europe different or did they change the console? heh.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Posts: 395
Location: Brasilia, Brazil
tepples wrote:
I remember that the controller ports of a PAL NES behave differently from those of the NTSC NES in certain obscure ways. So are you ready to region code your game? The only game I ever coded with a region lock was LJ65, and that was because I didn't yet know how to select NTSC or PAL behavior at runtime like I later learned by the time I made Thwaite.


Didn't Nintendo add some diodes to NES and SNES controller inputs to make sure NTSC controllers would not work on PAL machines ?

I remember that removing the diodes would solve the issue on the SNES case. Would the NES have something similar ?

3gengames:
As per bus issues, what have an emulated game to do with open bus problems ? And yes I guess you are right about the pullups as I have my NES open here for some testing with CVBS circuit and I had a check after reading your post.

The Pullup resistors were for the controller port buffers. -_-;


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2806
Nintendo could still send a Cease and Desist notice to people selling these illegal products. As tepples noted, the copyrights on the games are essentially forever to us at this point. The patents on the hardware though have gone.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:44 pm
Posts: 449
Location: CA
tepples wrote:
I remember that the controller ports of a PAL NES behave differently from those of the NTSC NES in certain obscure ways.

PAL systems have the controller clock and latch as open collector, so the PAL controllers have pull ups inside. The NTSC controller does not so it won't work on a PAL system. A PAL controller on NTSC system works fine. Not something a cart can detect.

3gengames wrote:
If so, that'd mean games like DK ripped from WiiWare with bus issues wouldn't have happened like they did when RetroUSB released it, but people had problems on their NES's.

That was bus conflicts, not open bus.

3gengames wrote:
And then the same with the powerpak, why did they need to add pull ups there?

Voltage conversion.

A relatively easy way to deal with clones would be the CHR /A13 -> CIRAM /CE connection. Almost all clones expect those 2 pins to be connected, which is why games like Rad Racer fail. Would need some weird electronics to be able to detect that and have the game still run.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:37 pm 
Offline
Formerly 65024U

Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:57 pm
Posts: 2257
Mmm, I can't believe I forgot those exact details on those, I thought DK was open bus problems for some reason, can't believe I was that wrong. But either way, even the difference in the PAL NES controller port won't make a difference to me, my plan will work on all officially made Nintendo consoles, don't fret. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19335
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
3gengames wrote:
my plan will work on all officially made Nintendo consoles, don't fret. :P

Including an authentic Game Boy Advance manufactured by Nintendo and running PocketNES?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group