It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 5:22 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 8:27 am
Posts: 22
Location: USA
jims cool wrote:
ya own two of them.. well one.. took the connecter off one to build a CopyFamES!.. it's a NES with a Famicom slot and CopyNES.. :lol:

Pictures please....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:25 am
Posts: 32
Is anyone can post any picture of it please ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 8:27 am
Posts: 22
Location: USA
Well, if its too much trouble then don't worry about it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 119
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
i've been busy i'll make a thread about it soon.. i've been planing on the FC expansion port and a few other things.. it's not that interesting atm.. haven't added a port switch so i can have games in both slots yet :)

_________________


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 8:27 am
Posts: 22
Location: USA
jims cool wrote:
i've been busy i'll make a thread about it soon.. i've been planing on the FC expansion port and a few other things.. it's not that interesting atm.. haven't added a port switch so i can have games in both slots yet :)


I understand. It would be nice to see if, and when, you get a chance.


Last edited by bootyhuntah on Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm
Posts: 2827
Has anyone ever just installed a game cartridge CIC directly into their NES? Would you just need to lift the DATA IN/OUT pins on the NES Motherboard so that it would ignore any CIC in the inserted cartridge? Or would you need to lift any other pins? I'm just wondering if anyone has done this and made a schematic for going about defeating the lockout this way. And I suppose if the CIC reset signal still goes out to the cartridge then any multi-cart using that would still work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7807
Location: Seattle
You could pretty easily stack the key on top of the lock ("stacked DIP") for all pins except pin 4 (LOCK/KEY). But I'm not clear that that's any easier…


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 119
Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
you could lift pin 1 and 2 on the lock then take a key CIC and bend pin 1, 2, 4, 5, 9 and 10 upward
stack the chips (solder pins not bet upward)
solder a wire from pin 1 (out) on the lock to pin 2 (in) on the key
solder a wire from pin 2 (in) on the lock to pin 1 (out) on the key
solder a wire from pin 4 (key/lock) on the key to pin 8 (gound) on the key
that's a lot of work though :lol:

if you replace the CIC you need to find a game with 319xA.. the timing of the other chips would stop lots of games from booting

_________________


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 5:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:25 am
Posts: 32
lidnariq wrote:
Here's a photograph of it on my board.


Hello,

Is anyone can tell me please if it's a 1M ohms resistor (or another one) in this photograph?


Attachments:
cicremove2.jpg
cicremove2.jpg [ 19.6 KiB | Viewed 2645 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2014 12:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7807
Location: Seattle
Yeah, that's the same 1M resistor that was there beforehand. I just moved one side.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2014 12:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:25 am
Posts: 32
OK, thx bro 8-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 5:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 9:25 am
Posts: 32
lidnariq wrote:
You're not a dummie :p

To reassure you, I've gone and tested the most recent one I posted on mine: it works just fine.

(Reposting: )
Attachment:
cicremove.png



I've tested this, and it worked perfectly......thx so lot :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 9:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 9:35 pm
Posts: 713
This should be lidnariq's schematic with the extra resistor to allow CIC Reset-dependent cartridges like the PAL-only Super Mario Bros/Tetris/Nintendo World Cup and the official Nintendo World Championships 1990 cartridge to work properly :

Attachment:
cicremove.png
cicremove.png [ 12.19 KiB | Viewed 1558 times ]

_________________
Nerdly Pleasures - My Vintage Video Game & Computing Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:37 pm
Posts: 4
I have done the above NES lockout chip removal mod. See the attached photos.

Attachment:
File comment: Top side of board.
IMG_20181203_121952.jpg
IMG_20181203_121952.jpg [ 3.78 MiB | Viewed 69 times ]
Attachment:
File comment: Bottom side of board.
IMG_20181203_121942.jpg
IMG_20181203_121942.jpg [ 3.81 MiB | Viewed 69 times ]


At the moment, the NES is only giving me a gray screen. Although I have occasionally seen junk on the screen. I believe the soldering is sound. I suspect the 72pin since I also boiled and re-installed the original 72pin. However, I have checked continuity on the 72pin and even bent the bifurcated pins up. I said I suspect the 72pin, but as I have never done this particular NES removal mod I now suspect it. Has anybody here actually done this mod successfully?

Darryl

UPDATE: It is working now. Turns out it was the 72pin causing trouble. This mod works. So clean.


Last edited by dphirschler on Mon Dec 10, 2018 7:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7807
Location: Seattle
That's literally the thing I did. Your rework is a lot prettier than mine :)

Does the reset button do anything? At the very least, the LED should turn off while you're pressing it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group