It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:13 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6526
Location: Seattle
tepples wrote:
Likewise, it's possible to have the chips ignore certain enable signals output by the mapper by playing with how the signals are routed on the PCB.
byemu wrote:
The circuit of Batman and Gremlin 2 on prg is exactly the same.
Looking at http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=3145 and http://bootgod.dyndns.org:7777/profile.php?id=3805, I have to agree: The portion of the PCB dedicated to PRG does not differ.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 8:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:56 pm
Posts: 287
lidnariq wrote:
byemu wrote:
Batman (5a) can't bank anything to 6000~7fff (no sram on this game)
Gremlin 2(5a) can bank prg-rom to 6000~7fff (be marked as 5b in "NES Cart Database")
So you're saying that two different cartridges, both with a Sunsoft 5a, respond to writes to register 8 differently?

Is it correct to say that the Batman cartridge is entirely ignoring writes to register 8?

Does Gremlins 2 pay attention to the top two bits of register 8? (In other words, can it ever not map prg-rom in?)


Yeah, that's exactly what I was saying.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 5:08 pm
Posts: 748
Location: Shelton, Washington.
A bit Offtopic, The Title of this thread has a typo, It's SUNSOFT, not SUBNSOFT

Also, This is getting more interesting!

_________________
AKA SmilyMZX/AtariHacker.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 6:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:56 pm
Posts: 287
Hamtaro126 wrote:
A bit Offtopic, The Title of this thread has a typo, It's SUNSOFT, not SUBNSOFT

Also, This is getting more interesting!


I corrected the title!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:56 pm
Posts: 287
byemu wrote:
my research for mapper 69
Code:
name                    prg-size chr-size mapper can bank to 6000 bank-sram  other
Barcode World           128      256      FME-7  no               yes
Batman                  128      128      5a     no               unknow
Dynamite Batman         128      256      FME-7  unknow           unknow     8k-sram
Gimmick!                256      128      5b     yes              unknow     ex-sound
Gremlins 2              128      256      5b/5a  yes              unknow
Hebereke                128      128      FME-7  unknow           unknow
Dodge Danpei            128      256      FME-7  yes              unknow
Dodge Danpei2           256      256      FME-7  unknow           yes
Pyokotan no Dai Meiro   128      128      FME-7  unknow           unknow           

sunsoft 5a can't bank any to 6000~7fff?
sunsoft 5b can bank prg to 6000~7FFF?
sunsoft fme-7 can bank prg to 6000~7FFF and can bank sram to 6000~7fff?


update:
1 mapper 69 can bank sram or prg at 6000~7FFF,but can't bank them at the same board!
make a flash cartridge with kazzo's way, the flash /ce need connect to fme-7(5a,5b)(if you want to bank it to 6000~7fff)
2 This board has the Timing Problem,so some flash can't use here(only a few 29 series can work perfect)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 3:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:45 pm
Posts: 62
lidnariq wrote:
It would be interesting to know, since you've got the sockets already, whether pseudoregister 8 still drives lines PRG ROM A13…A18 according to the latched value when it's configured to RAM. (in other words, it would be nice to know if the musing on the wiki about bankable prg-ram is true or not)

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12467&start=0

_________________
Idealogical
From: I have an idea. It seems logical. Thus everyone must agree.

Fail, fail, fail again. Keep trying, then maybe this damn thing will work. Eventually you might even know why it worked.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2015 4:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:51 am
Posts: 395
Location: Brasilia, Brazil
byemu wrote:
2 This board has the Timing Problem,so some flash can't use here(only a few 29 series can work perfect)


The problem could be the flash /WE pin. Original pinout has the pin connected to one of the mapper address pins and the mapper tend to drive it low, cause the flash to enter write mode and depending on what happens when the CPU crash might even corrupt what is written on the flash.

We recently tested the mapper capability for $6000 region and it could use as much as 128KB of RAM there.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2015 5:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2011 5:56 pm
Posts: 287
l_oliveira wrote:
byemu wrote:
2 This board has the Timing Problem,so some flash can't use here(only a few 29 series can work perfect)


The problem could be the flash /WE pin. Original pinout has the pin connected to one of the mapper address pins and the mapper tend to drive it low, cause the flash to enter write mode and depending on what happens when the CPU crash might even corrupt what is written on the flash.

We recently tested the mapper capability for $6000 region and it could use as much as 128KB of RAM there.


Thank you very much!
I found "AM29F002NT-120PC 9830MBM J @1996 AMD" on a batman cart is OK(not need a 7400).
But other Am29f002 are not ok.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group